Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Political Science / Public Policy Resources: Government Indexes

Key Tools

Catalog of US Government Publications. The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications distributed by GPO since July 1976 that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Congress - formerly THOMAS database, now congress.gov official access to all things Congressional.

FDSys. GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved  can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.

LexisNexis Academic. Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options. One of the most heavily used databases in higher education.  Note that you can select government and politics -- under subject areas -- to focus your search.

Proquest  Congressional. Provides users with efficient, targeted access to the most comprehensive collection of historic and current  congressional information available anywhere online. This collection includes the full text of  congressional publications (including hearings, reports, and documents), finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials to enable both novice and experienced researchers to complete many types of research projects using a single, user-friendly interface. Since Congress is interested in all public policy, social, and economic issues, the database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Note: not everything identified in this database is available full-text; however with the citation we can track down the items for you.

Proquest Statistical Insight. Provides users with access to statistical publications of the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations.  Not really a legal database, but part of the LexisNexis suite.

OpenCongress.  An interesting tool for tracking bills in the U.S. Congress, highlighting areas of most activity.

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL).  Provides access to over 20,000 federal technical reports and nearly two million pages of content prior to 1975.

USGS Publications Warehouse (The Vault). The Publications Warehouse would like to be a complete collection of old and new publications by the USGS. All publications, regardless of age, should have a citation (and hopefully soon, an electronic scan) within the Publications Warehouse. For out of date items, we try to direct people to the new publications by adding a "supersede" notice and link to the older publication pointing to the new publication. If the old publication doesn't have a new publication it can directly link to, we can't add a supersede notice. Also, we don't want to delete anything from the Publications Warehouse as we're trying to provide these old publications to people who are doing research and may need the old version of a report. These people may also be working on verifying citations from another report or some other work that requires the original publications.

CRS Reports

Proquest  Congressional. Provides users with efficient, targeted access to the most comprehensive collection of historic and current  congressional information available anywhere online. This collection includes the full text of  congressional publications (including hearings, reports, and documents), Congressional Research Service Reports from 1916 on,  finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials to enable both novice and experienced researchers to complete many types of research projects using a single, user-friendly interface. Since Congress is interested in all public policy, social, and economic issues, the database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Note: not everything identified in this database is available full-text; however with the citation we can track down the items for you.

Congressional Research Service Reports and Issue Briefs.  June 1, 1999 to date.

Congressional Research Service reports collected by the University of North Texas Libraries. The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Member of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their Web sites. This site aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990.

Congressional Research Services reports collected by the Stanford University, Social Sciences Resource Group via Archive-It.

Every CRS Report.  A coalition of public interest groups, journalists, academics, students, some Members of Congress, and former CRS employees have been advocating for greater access to CRS reports for over twenty years. Two bills in Congress to make these reports widely available already have 10 sponsors (S. 2639 and H.R. 4702, 114th Congress) and we urge Congress to finish the job.  This website shows Congress one vision of how it could be done.  EveryCRSReport.com currently includes 8,277 CRS reports. The number changes regularly.  It’s every CRS report that’s available on Congress’s internal website.  We redact the phone number, email address, and names of virtually all the analysts from the reports. We add disclaimer language regarding copyright and the role CRS reports are intended to play. That’s it.

Federation of American Scientists CRS Report Collection.

National Agricultural Law Center CRS Report CollectionCollects items regarding Animal Agriculture; Aquaculture; Bankruptcy; Biotechnology; Budget and Appropriations; Commodities; Disaster Impact and Assistance; Energy; Environmental Issues; Economy; Estate Planning and Taxation; Farm Bills; Farm Labor; Farm Policy.

Thurgood Marshall Law Center CRS Report Collection.  Focuses on collecting CRS reports on Homeland Security/Terrorism and Health Law and Policy.

Major Studies & Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service : 1916-1989 Cumulative Index.  Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1989.  Government Documents Library Reference (3 East) JK1108 .G82 : Provides a finding tool for microfilm.

 

State of Michigan Tools

Gongwer Michigan Report : A subscription service available within the MSU Main Library.  The Gongwer News Service provides daily updates on news related to Michigan government and politics. Also provides a directory tab for various government officials.

MIRS  :  Whether you call it MIRS, MIRSnews.com, or Michigan Information and Research Service, Inc., the Michigan State University Libraries now provides online access to this key public policy resource for all MSU faculty, staff, and students interested in following what's going on regarding Michigan government and politics. In addition to House and Senate legislative reports, the Capitol Capsule, news summaries from around 40 different web sites, and a daily compilation of press releasesIn , MIRS also provides directory information for each office holder (state Senate, state House, Supreme Court, members of the U.S. House and Senate), campaign finance information, committee and subcommittee membership information, lobbyist info, district demographic information, legislative bill tracking, complete capitol calendars of fundraisers, committee meetings and regulatory rules hearings, and web links to related resources.

Michigan Legislature : A joint project of the Michigan House of Representatives, the Michigan Senate, and the Legislative Council through the Legislative Services Bureau and the Library of Michigan.  Provides copies of bill and joint resolutions as they are introduced, as passed by the House and Senate, and as sent to the governor for review.  Also provides daily journals, calendars, bill status (searchable by bill number, sponsor, or subject), resolution status, and legislative and fiscal analysis of bills. 

Michigan Votes : Their Votes. Your Views! Courtesy of the Mackinac Center for Public Policy.

Michigan State Agency Databases.  An annotated list of databases produced by Michigan State Agencies arranged  by producing agency. Maintained by Michael McDonnell, Reference, U.S. Government Documents, and Maps Librarian at Waldo Library, Western Michigan University for the ALA Government Documents Round Table State Agency Databases Project
 

Subject Guide

Michigan State University