Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Political Science / Public Policy Resources: Web Sites

Selected Web Sites, A-J

American Policy Directory.  Find analysis and advocacy from all perspectives from various think tanks on US national public policy.  Courtesy of the University of Oregon. Search entire collection or browse through the following categories:  Animals & Wildlife | Business | Civil Rights | Constitutional Rights | Consumer Protection | Economic Rights | Education/Arts/Culture | Environmental | Families/Children/Elderly | Governmental Process | Health/Nutrition | Housing | Immigration | Information Policy | International Affairs | Labor | Land Use | Media | Public Finance/Taxation | Public Safety | Religion | Reproductive Issues | Science and Technology  | Women's Issues

American Presidency Project : The American Presidency Project at UC Santa Barbara, Department of Political Science has provided the text of the Public Papers of the Presidents from 1789-1913, 1929-2012 along with other interesting stuff like Inaugural Addresses and National Political Party Platforms.

APSA Syllabi Project.  Among a teacher's most arduous tasks each semester is to prepare syllabi for the upcoming class schedule. As faculty teach a more diverse array of courses, many rely on assistance and suggestions from colleagues to design classes and on the growing number of syllabi that can be found online.

Ballot Measures Database : Database of nearly 160 proposals or initiatives on November statewide ballots, searchable by state and/or topic. Courtesy of the National Council of State Legislatures. 

Congressional Report Cards : A non-partisan, on-line voter guide published since 1995 by Voter Information Services. The guide contains easy-to-use "report cards" that compare the position on legislation of members of the U.S. Congress with the position on legislation of more than 80 advocacy groups. 

FactCheck.org :  Nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. They monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases. The Annenberg Political Fact Check is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.

First Federal Congress Project : On-line exhibit.

Franklin D. Roosevelt Library and Digital Archives : Site features over 10,000 digitized documents, photographs, sound and video recordings, finding aids, and other primary source materials found at the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library in Hyde Park, New York.

International Relations Library Research Guide.  Created by Terry Link, Michigan State University Libraries. 

IPL2 Law, Government and Political Science : ipl2 is the result of a merger of the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII). 

Issue Lab the Foundation Center is working to more effectively gather, index, and share the collective intelligence of the social sector. They provide free access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems.

Jefferson: Man of the Millennium : Hypertext essay by a distinguished professor of history. Site features essay, interviews with historians on the topic, as well as useful links on Jefferson. Sponsored by the Jefferson Legacy Foundation.

Selected Web Sites, L-P

Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Online Center : The Leadership Conference on Civil Rights is the nation's oldest, largest, and most diverse coalition of organizations committed to the protection of civil and human rights in the United States. Today, the LCCR has over 180 organizations that work together in solving the significant civil rights problems of the day. These organizations include groups representing people of color, women, labor unions, persons with disabilites, older Americans, major religious groups, gays and lesbians, and civil liberties and human rights groups. This web site is building a Vital Issues section, covering topics like the 2000 Census, Administration of Justice, Affirmative Action, Disability Policy Issues, Education, Elderly Issues, Employment and Non-Discrimination Act, Executive Appointments, Fair Housing, Hate Crimes, Immigration Reform, Judicial Appointments, Labor Issues, Religious Freedom Issues, Welfare, and Miscellaneous.

Leon's Almanac of Political History : A calendar of major events, day by day, with links to related resources, by Larry Felkins. 

Lincoln On-Line : Site devoted to Abraham Lincoln, president during the Civil War. 

Michigan Policy Network : The Michigan Policy Network is a student-led public education and research program to report and organize news and information about the political process surrounding Michigan state policy issues. It is run out of the Department of Political Science at Michigan State University, with participation by students from the College of Social Science, the College of Communication, and James Madison College.

National Center for Policy Analysis :Pro free market position papers on public policy, including campaign finance reform, crime, education, environment, health care reform, minimum wage, social security, and welfare. Features sections focusing on issues before Congress, pro and con commentary on the same topic, and links to opinions of other think tanks. 

National Conference of State Legislatures : NCSL supports state legislatures through research and other activities. This Web site contains information and research on key state issues, publications, meetings and seminars, a legislative information database, and contact information for NCSL staff who can assist legislators and legislative staff in solving problems. This site also links to a wide gamut other state Internet sites. The link provides connects you to a topics section covering everything from agriculture to transportation. Each summary includes information on NCSL activities, online services and print publications. Portions of the web site are restricted to members. [Note: The Library of Michigan has a membership and gets most of the publications described on the web pages. If they don't have one, they can claim it.]

National Security Archive : An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. The Archive won the 1999 George Polk Award, one of U.S. journalism's most prestigious prizes, for-in the words of the citation-"piercing the self-serving veils of government secrecy, guiding journalists in the search for the truth and informing us all." 

The Obama White House Social Media Archive : President Obama and his White House have used social media to engage with people around the country and the world. This open archive provides public access to social media content created during the Obama White House years. It contains over 250,000 posts, photos, and videos shared by more than 100 official Obama White House social media profiles. The content in this archive is being made available in the interest of historical preservation and transparency.

On-Line Campaign Literature Archive : Collection of campaign web sites and scanned images of printed campaign literature, emphasizing California and Los Angeles elections, 1924 to present. Courtesy of UCLA Library. 

Policy Archive : a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.

Politics 1 : One of the most complete resources available on the web, Politics1.com provides information on state and national elections, issues and debates, parties and even a historical perspective. The state-by-state sections direct the reader to numerous relevant links, state histories and candidate profiles. The presidential election page will give you a guide to all the candidates running and their sites if available. Good links to center-left-right sites.

PolitiFact.Com : PolitiFact is a project of the St. Petersburg Times and Congressional Quarterly to help you find the truth in the presidential campaign. Every day, reporters and researchers from the Times and CQ will analyze the candidates' speeches, TV ads and interviews and determine whether the claims are accurate. 

President Thomas Jefferson Papers :  Digitized version of the papers of President Thomas Jefferson from the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. 

Presidential Libraries and Museums. Links to the libraries of Presidents Hoover through George W. Bush.

Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929 : Site assembles a wide array of Library of Congress source materials from the 1920s that document the widespread prosperity of the Coolidge years, the nation's transition to a mass consumer economy, and the role of government in this transition.

Selected Web Sites, Q-Z

Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources : One of the better guides to political science resources worldwide. Categories include: Area Studies, British Politics, Elections, Constitutions, Political Parties, Manifestos, Political Theory, Political Thought, International Relations, Data Archives, Journals and Newspapers.

Stateline.Org : Provides breaking state news sorted out into the following categories: healthcare, welfare reform, taxes/budget, education, campaign reform, land use, and utility deregulation.

The Ultimate Political Science Links Page (P.S. Ruckman, Jr., Rock Valley College). 
A comprehensive site offering links to major political science associations, areas of study, journals and publications, political news and commentary, and other resources. 

University of Southern California  USC Center for Public Diplomacy

University of Virginia Miller Center of Public AffairsIn the digital library section of our site you will find hundreds of hours of secret White House recordings from Franklin Roosevelt, John F. Kennedy and Lyndon Johnson (with Truman, Eisenhower and Nixon recordings on the way); a growing collection of some of the most important presidential speeches of the past 70 years (in full audio); audio recordings and transcripts of the Jimmy Carter Oral History project conducted at the Miller Center; and recordings of public forums from numerous officials ranging from John Ehrlichman to William Fulbright. We currently have over 100 gigabytes of material available on our website. Our online collection will grow as we continue to transfer over 2 terabytes of material we have stored on our internal servers to the website. On our site you will also find a growing online reference section with extensive bibliographies on individual presidents and specific subjects closely associated with the presidency (e.g. the Vietnam Conflict).

Urban Institute Issues : A few of the issues currently hightlighted include public housing transformation, tax policy, health policy online, crime in america, long-term care for the elderly, jumpstarting the economy, at-risk teens, medicare, social security, welfare reform, and the working poor.

U.S. Presidential Audio RecordingsDigital recordings of American Presidents of the 20th Century via the MSU Vincent Voice Library.

Virtual Library International Affairs Resources : This section of the WWW Virtual Library system is an Internet directory of over 2600 annotated links in a wide range of international affairs, international studies, and international relations topics. Most of the sites are in English and are carefully selected for their long-term value, favoring those with cost-free, high-quality information and analysis online. 

Warren Commission. The President's Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy, usually called the Warren Commission after its chairman Chief Justice Earl Warren, conducted hearings in 1964 on the assassination of President Kennedy. It issued its now-famous finding that Lee Harvey Oswald, alone and unaided, killed President Kennedy in Dallas on November 22, 1963. It further found that Jack Ruby's murder of Oswald, while Oswald was in police custody, was also not part of any conspiracy....In addition to the published 26 volumes of evidence, the released files of the Warren Commission include over 50,000 pages of numbered documents, internal memorandum, transcripts of Executive Sessions, and more. The testimony and files of the Commission serve as an important base of evidence in any understanding of the events in Dallas.

YaleGlobal Online : The YaleGlobal online magazine is designed to encourage exploration and debate on issues surrounding globalization. Devoted to reports and analysis of globalization-related topics, the magazine is the Center's flagship publication. In addition to publishing original articles on various aspects of globalization as well as republishing similar articles from other sites, YaleGlobal provides streaming audio and video of major speeches and presentations made at the Center and other venues. To facilitate the study of this vast and complex phenomenon it houses a searchable database of articles and reports relating to globalization issues. The site also offers Internet links to other relevant websites and a calendar detailing upcoming globalization-related events.

Subject guide

Profile Image
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page
 

Confused?

Michigan State University