Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Sports Research Guide: Locating Journal Articles

Searching for Articles

To locate journal articles, you need to begin your search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature on your topic.

From the MSU libraries home page, http://lib.msu.edu, choose E-Resources under Quick Links, and then choose Indexes on the left-hand side of the page.

If you are not sure which Index to search, there is a heading for Kinesiology under Browse Indexes by Subject, or choose an Index from those listed below and click on the title. Once in the Index, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.

Relevant Electronic Kinesiology Indexes

SPORT Discus

Offers bibliographic access to the complete range of sport disciplines and subdisciplines, including sports medicine, applied physiology, training, sport techniques , coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography and more. Sport and physical activity plany an important role in promoting an healthy lifestyle and SPORTDiscus covers this area as well as the subject areas of physical fitness, recreation, sport for all and active living.

PUBMED

PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

PubMed is the premier search engine for biomedical and life sciences information. It provides web access to bibliographic information, including literature citations, abstracts, and electronic journal articles.

          Searching for and Locating Journal Articles using PubMed

Science Direct

Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.

PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES (on CSA Illumina)

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.

ProQuest

ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: business, children, education, general interest, health, international, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet)

Focuses on the Sporting Goods and Sports Marketing Industry; data includes consumer demographics, sports participation rates, online consumer buying patterns, sports attendance statistics, and international market surveys. SBRnet also offers full text access to several sports business trade journals.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (including Alternative Health Module)

The Health & Wellness Resource Center provides an integrated collection of general interest and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets.

Records are available in a combination of indexing, abstracts or full text formats. Designed for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers.

The Alternative Health Module, which is incorporated in the Health & Wellness Resource Center, includes information on alternative and complimentary therapies. It provides a collection of books, journals, magazines and pamphlets for consumers and health care professionals. This module displays additonal information on alternative topics such as herbal remedies, yoga, homeopathy, midwifery, chiropractic and more.

ERIC (on CSA Illumina)

A U.S. national bibliographic database covering the journal and research literature in the field of education. It contains journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, theses, and research reports.

Sociological Abstracts

Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It draws information from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Lexis Nexis Academic

The LEXIS service contains major archives of federal and state case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, state and federal regulations and public records from major U.S. states. The NEXIS service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online.

Subject Guide

Sheila Bryant's picture
Sheila Bryant
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, WG-1G
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0896
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University