Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Sports Research Guide: Sport Print Resources

Print Indexes

Physical Education Index

Provides comprehensive coverage for dance, health, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, sports and sports medicine. Extensively indexes the periodical literature of biomechanics-kinesiology, coaching, facilities, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, perception, physical fitness, research, sport psychology, sport sociology, teaching methods, training, and all sports activities. Searching tips: Each issue includes a separate book review section after the subject index. Book reviews are arranged alphabetically by author.

SportScience - http://www.sportsci/org

SportScience : An Interdisciplinary Site for Research on Human Physical Performance is a peer reviewed site for sport science hosted by the International Sports Sciences Association. Articles are arranged by issue or can also be searched by topic such as sports medicine, sport nutrition, statistics, etc.

Completed Research in Health, Physical Education and Recreation

Covers master's and doctoral theses from institutions offering graduate programs in health, physical education, recreation, dance, and allied areas.

The Year Book of Sports Medicine

Summarizes each year's major research efforts. Gives detailed abstracts of selected articles as well as editorial comments. Articles are analysis of test results in the following areas: exercise physiology, general medicine, biomechanics, sports injury, pediatric sports medicine, women in sports, and athletic training.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories, and Handbooks

  • Encyclopedia of Physical Education, Fitness, and Sports

    A four-volume encyclopedia published under the auspices of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance.
    Volume 1 (1981): Philosopy, Programs, and History
    Volume 2 (1980): Training, Environment, Nutrition, and Fitness
    Volume 3 (1977): Sports, Dance, and Related Activites
    Volume 4 (1985): Human Performance, Efficiency and Improvements in Sport, Exercise, and Fitness
  • Encyclopedia of Sports Science

    This two-volume reference tool aims to answer two types of questions about sports. Part one deals with Sports and the Body, addressing questions about the physics of sports. Part two deals with the physiology of sport. Each entry provides an introduction with historical information, after which the basic science concepts are presented.

Subject Guide

Sheila Bryant's picture
Sheila Bryant
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, WG-1G
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0896
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University