Skip to main content
Michigan State University

History of Sports in America: Finding Journal Articles

Social and cultural ramifications of colonial sport. Rise of modern sport in the nineteenth century. Social significance of sport in modern America with special attention to economics, gender, race, and politics.

Searching for Articles

To locate journal articles you need to begin your search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature on your topic.

From the MSU libraries home page, http://lib.msu.edu, choose E-Resources under Quick Links, and then choose Indexes on the left-hand side of the page.

If you are not sure which Index to search, there is a heading for Sports under Browse Indexes by Subject, or choose an Index from those listed below and click on the title. Once in the Index, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.

Relevant Electronic Sport Indexes

SPORT Discus

Offers bibliographic access to the complete range of sport disciplines and subdisciplines, including sports medicine, applied physiology, training, sport techniques , coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography and more. Sport and physical activity plany an important role in promoting an healthy lifestyle and SPORTDiscus covers this area as well as the subject areas of physical fitness, recreation, sport for all and active living.

ProQuest

ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: business, children, education, general interest, health, international, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

Lexis Nexis Academic

The LEXIS service contains major archives of federal and state case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, state and federal regulations and public records from major U.S. states. The NEXIS service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online.

Subject Guide

Sheila Bryant's picture
Sheila Bryant
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, WG-1G
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0896
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University