Skip to main content
Michigan State University

KIN 310: Psychological Bases of Physical Activity: Finding Journal Articles

Psychological factors affecting motor skill acquisition and performance. Psychological skills which enhance sport performance. Applications of learning theory.

Searching for Articles

To locate journal articles you need to begin your search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature on your topic.

From the MSU libraries home page, http://www.lib.msu.edu, choose E-Resources under Quick Links, and then choose Indexes on the left-hand side of the page.

If you are not sure which Index to search, there is a heading for Kinesiology under Browse Indexes by Subject, or choose an Index from those listed below and click on the title. Once in the Index, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.

Relevant Electronic Kinesiology Indexes

Physical Education Index


These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.

PUBMED

PubMed is the premier search engine for biomedical and life sciences information. It provides web access to bibliographic information, including literature citations, abstracts, and electronic journal articles.

Science Direct

Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.

ProQuest

ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: business, children, education, general interest, health, international, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (including Alternative Health Module)

The Health & Wellness Resource Center provides an integrated collection of general interest and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets.

Records are available in a combination of indexing, abstracts or full text formats. Designed for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers.

The Alternative Health Module, which is incorporated in the Health & Wellness Resource Center, includes information on alternative and complimentary therapies. It provides a collection of books, journals, magazines and pamphlets for consumers and health care professionals. This module displays additonal information on alternative topics such as herbal remedies, yoga, homeopathy, midwifery, chiropractic and more.

PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES (on CSA Illumina)

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (on EBSCO)

CINAHL is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It provides indexing for over 3,000 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. Additional items indexed include nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Evidence Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons are also included.

Web of Science

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanitites, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Gender Studies Database

GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. The source documents indexed include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.

Sociological Abstracts

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

 

Subject Guide

Sheila Bryant's picture
Sheila Bryant
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, WG-1G
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0896
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University