Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Immigrants in the United States: E-Books

E-Books Overview

In addition to some of our electronic reference works, you can find more electronic books through the following collections....

Ebook Readers

Check out Ebook and EReaders at the MSU Libraries  for advice on whether books can be downloaded to personal devices.

Ask a Librarian

Confused? 

Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.

Archives of Americana

Archive of Americana (subscription collection). Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, and Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.  Allows one to search for books and other publications from the seventeenth and first part of the 18th centuries.

ebrary

eBrary Link.   Includes all books currently available in Academic Complete, as well as selected books which are avaiilable on a permanent basis. 

EBSCOHost eBook Collection

EBSCO ebook Academic Collection Link.  Includes locally purchased e-books and collections provided by MeL, as well as the EBSCO Ebook Academic Collection subscription package.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a shared digital repository by the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system. If there is a digitized title in the HathiTrust that matches a title in the MSU Library Union Catalog, then a link with the orange HathiTrust icon will show within the record, linking to the full text page hosted by HathiTrust database. More information about HathiTrust is available at http://www.hathitrust.org/

Internet Archives

Internet Archives. A continually growing collection of online books.  In February 2010, the Internet Archives announced the addition of 70,000 books from the Cornell University Libraries.

Sample E-Books

Subject Guide

Michigan State University