Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Nursing Resources: Electronic Books

This research guide provides an overview of Nursing Resources at the MSU Libraries (databases/indexes, books/ebooks, etc.).

Titles are arranged alphabetically by specialty or subject category.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


A

Ambulatory Care

Ambulatory Care Procedures for the Nurse Practitioner

 

Anesthesia

Anesthesia (after connecting, select Core Collection)

Bonica's Management of Pain

Clinical Anesthesia

Core Topics in Operating Department Practice: Anesthesia and Critical Care

 

C

Cancer/Oncology Nursing

Cancer Care for Adolescents and Young Adults

 

Cardiac Nursing

Cardiac Nursing

RN Expert Guides: Cardiovascular Care

 

Career Resources

Resumes for Nursing Careers

 

Care Plans & Documentation

Complete Guide to Documentation

Concept mapping: A Critical-Thinking Approach to Care Planning

Delmar's Geriatric Nursing Care Plans

Lippincott's Manual of Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans

Medical Charting Demystified

Nursing Care Plans & Documentation: Nursing Diagnoses and Collaborative Problems

 

Critical Care

AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing

Core Topics in Operating Department Practice: Anesthesia and Critical Care

Critical Care Nursing: Synergy for Optimal Outcomes

 

Cultural Competence

Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care

 

D

Diabetes

Managing Clinical Problems in Diabetes

Prescribing in Diabetes

Providing Diabetes Care in General Practice: A Practical Guide to Integrated Care

 

Diagnosis / Assessment

Assess Notes: Nursing Assessment & Diagnostic Reasoning

Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests

Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis

Handbook of Pathophysiology

Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests

Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnosis, Interventions, and Rationales

Nursing Diagnosis Manual: Planning, Individualizing, and Documenting Client Care

Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Nursing

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health

Stedman's Medical Dictionary

 

Diseases

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual (Heymann)

Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual

Professional Guide to Diseases

 

Drug Guides

Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses

Handbook on Injectable Drugs

 

E

Education

Creative Teaching Strategies for the Nurse Educator

Distance Education in Nursing

Nursing Education: Foundations for Practice Excellence

 

Education

Ethical Decision Making in Nursing and Health Care

 

Evidence Based Practice (EBP)

Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice

Nurse to Nurse: Evidence-Based Practice

Pain Management: Evidence-based tools and techniques for nursing professionals

 

F

Family Nursing

Family Nursing: Research, Theory and Practice

 

Fundamentals / General

Advanced Nursing Practice

All Things Nursing

Clinical Nursing Skills (Sandra Smith)

Delmar's Fundamental & Advanced Nursing Skills

Healing Presence: The Essence of Nursing

The Informed Practice Nurse

 

G

Geriatrics

Essentials of Gerontological Nursing

Reichel's Care of the Elderly: Clinical Aspects of Aging

 

H

Holistic Nursing

Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice

 

I

Infection

Infection Prevention and Control: Theory and Clinical Practice for Healthcare Professionals

 

IV Therapy

Handbook of Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Based Imbalances

I.V. Therapy Demystified

Plumer's Principles & Practice of Intravenous Therapy

 

L

Leadership / Management

Case Applications in Nursing Leadership and Management

Mentoring in Nursing: A Dynamic and Collaborative Process

Nursing Leadership and Management

Quantum Leadership: A Textbook of New Leadership

 

M

Maternal Nursing

Core Curriculum for Lactation Consultant Practice

Maternal-Newborn Nursing & Women's Health Across the Lifespan

 

Mental Health / Psychiatric Nursing

The Art of Dementia Care

Lippincott's Manual of Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans

Partnerships in Community Mental Health Nursing and Dementia Care: Practice Perspectives

Person-Centred Dementia Care: Making Services Better

Psychosocial Nursing for General Care

 

N

NCLEX Review

McGraw-Hill Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination (2008)

 

Neurology

RN Expert Guides: Neurologic Care

 

Nutrition

Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease

Nutrition Care Manual

 

O

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Berek & Novak's Gynecology

Danforth's Obstetrics and Gynecology

Guidelines for Perinatal Care

Medical Disorders in Pregnancy

 

Oncology (see Cancer/Oncology Nursing)

 

P

Palliative Nursing

Nurse to Nurse: Palliative Care

Textbook of Palliative Nursing

 

Parkinson's Disease

Comprehensive Nursing Care for Parkinson's Disease

 

Pediatric

Caring for Children with Complex Needs in the Community

Pediatric Nursing: Caring for Children and their Families

Pediatric Primary Care: Ill-Child Care

Pediatric Primary Care: Well-Child Care

Providing Support at Home for Children and Young People Who Have Complex Health Needs

 

Practice & Procedures

Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice

Lippincott's Nursing Procedures

Nurse's Toolbook for Promoting Wellness

 

Public Health

Public Health Nursing


R

Rehabilitation Nursing

Advancing Practice in Rehabilitation Nursing

 

Research

Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice

Foundations of Nursing Research

Nursing Research Program Builder: Strategies to Translate Findings into Practice

Self-Fulfilling Prophecy: Building a Successful Career in Health Research

 

Respiratory Care

RN Expert Guide: Respiratory Care

 

S

Study Skills / Writing

Making Sense of Portfolios: A Guide for Nursing Students

Test Success: Test-Taking Techniques for Beginning Nursing Students

 

T

Theory

Hope: An International Human Becoming Perspective (R. Parse)

Middle Range Theory Development Using King's Conceptual System

Middle Range Theory for Nursing (Smith and Liehr)

Notes on Nursing (F. Nightingale)

Nursing Knowledge development and Clinical Practice (Callista Roy)

Nursing Theories & Nursing Practice

Transforming Presence: The Difference that Nursing Makes (M. Newman)

 

W

Wound Care

Clinical Guide Skin & Wound Care

Wound Management

Need help? Contact me!

Michigan State University