Skip to main content
Michigan State University

ATD 426: History of Dress and Textiles: Web Resources for Costume and Fashion

Credible web resources for fashion and costume images and information.

London College of Fashion Paper Patterns

Collection of home dressmaking patterns showing the changing fashions of the past century, from the 1920s to the present day. It includes designs by leading designers such as Laroche, Givenchy, and Christian Dior, and about 800 patterns published by Vogue, Butterick, Woman’s Weekly, and others.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute

The Costume Institute houses a collection of more than thirty-five thousand costumes and accessories, representing five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.  Images from the collection can be searched through the web site.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Victoria and Albert Museum - Costume Collections

Extensive collections, online exhibitions, and links to related content, and searchable images.

Victoria and Albert Museum - Fashion Collections

Searchable image collections, articles of interest, and related content from the museum's fashion collection.

Need help? Contact me!

Terrie Wilson's picture
Terrie Wilson
Contact:
Art Librarian & Head, Fine Arts Library
Michigan State University
Fine Arts Library
517-884-0862
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University