Skip to main content
Selected Web Resources
- ACLU Lesbian and Gay Rights Project
"Founded in 1986, the Lesbian & Gay Rights Project and AIDS Project are a special division of the American Civil Liberties Union. The combined Project staff are experts in constitutional law and civil rights, specializing in sexual orientation, gender identity, and HIV." The site includes links to resources such as specific case profiles, essays written by project staff members, and free publications of the project.
- Bisexual Resource Center
"The Bisexual Resource Center is an international organization providing education about and support for bisexual and progressive issues." The site includes links to numerous resources, including (among others), conferences and events, and legal resources.
- Family Equality Council
This organization provides support to LGBT parents and their families. The site includes links to Family Equality Council publications, and various online resources for LGBT parents.
- Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)
This organization focuses on promoting fair, accurate and inclusive media representation of the LGBT community.
- Grants for Individuals: GLBT
Provides links to sites of organizations which provide funding opportunites (most scholarships) to members of the LGBT community. Also provides links to other Web directories of similar funding opportunities.
- Human Rights Campaign
This organization "seeks to improve the lives of GLBT Americans by advocating for equal rights and benefits in the workplace, ensuring families are treated equally under the law and increasing public support among all Americans through innovative advocacy, education and outreach programs." The site provides links to numerous resources, including information about U.S. state laws and legislation specific to LGBT equality.
- Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, Transgender Resource Center
The MSU LBGT Resource Center "leads and collaborates on university-wide initiatives that enhance campus climate and academic and support services for students who identify as lesbian, bisexual, gay, transgender and/or transsexual, and their communities, at Michigan State University." The MSU LBGT Resource Center site includes information on local and national resources specific to numerous topics, such as (among others) coming out, heterosexism, and understanding transgender identities.
- Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, Transgender Resource Center: Campus Organizations
Provides background and contact information for diverse LBGTQ campus organizations at MSU.
- National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
"Founded in 1973, the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Foundation (the Task Force) was the first national lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) civil rights and advocacy organization and remains the movement's leading voice for freedom, justice, and equality. We work to build the grassroots political strength of our community by training state and local activists and leaders, working to strengthen the infrastructure of state and local allies, and organizing broad-based campaigns to build public support for complete equality for LGBT people." The site provides links to numerous documents and reports on topics such as (among others) marriage equality, demographics of same sex households in the U.S., social discrimination, and health issues.
- Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG)
This organization "promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender persons, their families and friends." The site provides links to numerous sources, including (among others), resources for LGBT commmunities of color.
- People With a History
This site "includes hundreds of original texts, (and) discussions...and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world."
- Transgender Forum
This site provides a collection of resources for the transgender community.