Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 201 Migration in Russia and the Soviet Union: Home

HST201

Reference Sources

Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History

Location: DK14 .M6 Reference, 1 East.
The gold standard in reference books on Russian History. Excellent entries signed by scholars that usually conclude with a bibliography of readings on each topic. Excellent for Ukrainian history as well, particularly pre-1945 history.

Encyclopedia of Russian History

Authoritative, current encyclopedia. Articles are written by scholars in the field, and many include bibliographies of suggested readings on a topic in English.

Journal Article Indexes

Historical Abstracts

Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies

ABSEES covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographical citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. The web edition coverage begins from 1990 and is updated monthly. Hardcopy volumes from 1956 onwards are located in the Main Library Stacks Z2483 .A65

International Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Good source for articles on contemporary events, particularly post-1989 Ukraine.

Primary Sources

Universal Database of Russian Newspapers

This resource contains full-text articles from more than 60 Russian newspapers in English and Russian. For newspapers printed in English, select the "World News Connection - Archive" from the list of aggregated databases. 

GetIt@MSUL

Register here for access to interlibrary loan services to get books and journal articles that MSU does not have.

Subject Guide

Sarah Klimek's picture
Sarah Klimek
Contact:
U.S. History Librarian
(517) 884-7435

Subject Guide

Michigan State University