Skip to main content
Michigan State University

African Activist Archive at MSU Libraries: Resources

A description with links to MSU Libraries holdings of the African Activist Archive

African Activist Archive at MSU Libraries

The African Activist Archive Project includes both library holdings of original papers and an online archive of primary materials of decades of activist organizing in the United States in solidarity with African struggles against colonialism, apartheid, and injustice. This is a "people's archive" focused on local organizations that supported African struggles, as well as materials from national organizations that provided research, educational and organizing materials. MSU Libaries regularly receives new Papers in this Project. Listed below are those currently received, including links to full descriptions and/or inventorires as these are created.

To search for fully cataloged African Activist Archive papers in MSU Libraries catalog: type "African Activist Archive" as keyword, title, or author

Papers/Collections:

American Coordinating Committee for Equality in Sport and Society (ACCESS) papers [ca. 1969-91]
MSU SPEC COLL MSS & ARCHIVES  Mss 280

Association of Concerned Africa Scholars papers 1977-<2001>
MSU SPEC COLL MSS & ARCHIVES  Mss 284

Boston Coalition for the Liberation of Southern Africa papers. [1970-ca. 1990]
MSU SPEC COLL MSS & ARCHIVES MSS 282

Carol B. Thompson and Bud Day Papers on Southern Africa, 1970s-1990s.
MSU SPEC COLL MSS & ARCHIVES large MSS 329

Educators Against Racism and Apartheid papers, 1985-1994.
MSU SPEC COLL MSS & ARCHIVES Mss 291

John Harrington's South Africa Papers, 1972-1995.
MSU SPEC COLL MSS & ARCHIVES Mss 259

Patricia L Beeman Southern Africa Liberation Committee Collection.
MSU SPEC COLL MSS & ARCHIVES large Mss 258


Papers/Collectiond in process with manuscript numbers:

Mary-Louise Hooper papers.      MSS 283
Selma Waldman, Seattle Coalition against Apartheid

MSS 281
Mia Adjali (Africa collection)       MSS 330
Lynne Weikart collection           MSS 331
Brooklynites Against Apartheid  MSS 332
Africa Research Group (Danny Schechter collection  MSS 333
Robert Schwartz (Africa archive) MSS 334
Robert Maurer Papers              MSS 335
Carole Collins collection Mss 328
African American Students Foundation (Cora Weiss) Mss 341
Michael Fleshman T-shirt collection
Mss 370
Prexy Nesbitt T-shirt collection Mss 371
Aracelly Santana (Poster and T-shirt Collection) Mss 372
Gretchen Eick Southern Africa
collection Mss 352
Madison Area Committee on Southern Africa Mss 340

Others in process


George Houser papers

James Weikart collection
Lawrence Litvak South Africa Catalyst Project collection
New York City
Divestment Documents

Sean Gervasi (Africa archive)

Sharon Sopher
collection
South African Springbok Rugby tour (Michael Dollard papers)

United Automobile, Aerospace & Agricultural Workers of America (UAW) Moses Mayekiso Campaign

Chris Hables Gray collection: 2 folders (includes leaflets of Stanford Committee for a Responsible Investment Policy; newsletter Against the Grain published by the Alliance for Radical Change; South Africa Catalyst Project

 

Don Stillman photos with Moses Mayekiso (part of the United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Workers of America (UAW) - Moses Mayekiso Campaign)

Contact African Activist Archive in MSU Libraries

Peter Limb
Africana Bibliographer
Michigan State University Libraries
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 884-0838 limb@msu.edu

Peter Berg
Special Collections Librarian
Michigan State University Libraries
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 884-6471

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University