LibGuides: Journalism Research Guide: Data & Statistics

News and Media Industry Reports

Statista This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Includes international and new media and social media statistics that are difficult to locate elsewhere. Useful for (social) media consumption & behavior, top media outlets (print and online).
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
U.S. and global media and newspaper industry reports
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
U.S. and global media and newspaper industry and media company reports.

Mintel Oxygen
Contains full-text market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. Useful for global media usage, consumption and attitudes to media.

Editor & Publisher 1901-2015

Editor & Publisher 1901-2015
Editor & Publisher is an active American trade magazine focused on the newspaper industry, advertising and public relations, communication, journalism and printing.

Statistics: Circulation and/or Audience Analytics

These resources are useful for identifying publications for comparative content analysis eg newspaper with the largest circulation in Wisconsin or Nigeria.

SRDS This link opens in a new window
Provides circulation numbers and includes the Local Market Audience Analyst with demographic profiles for over 210 designated market areas and PRIZM reports. Print version up for pre-2015 data.

Benn's media.
P88.8 .B4 MSU Reference, 1 Center
International newspaper and magazine directory. Includes circulation, frequency, readership, distribution, editorial profile and contact information.

Television & cable factbook.
Call Number: HE8690 .T45
TV audience size by DMA. No longer published after 2018.

How to find international circulation statistics
International circulation figures
Availability of free circulation figures for non-US publications. [PDF]

Statistics: Media

These resources provide national-level statistics on IT, internet and communications infrastucture, media access and use for print, TV and radio broadcast as well as cinema.

Points to consider when using these statistics:

UNESCO, ITU and other international government organizations rely on individual countries to report statistics to them, so data varies in availability and currency. For a single country, check the national statistical agency, as they may have more current or detailed statistics.
Media use and availability statistics are difficult to gather and interpret. Use them with caution.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Data Centre
Use the "Culture and Communication" section to find statistics on newspapers, TV and radio and cinema.
Note: as UNESCO relies on individual countries to report statistics, data varies in availability and currency.
Yearbook of statistics : telecommunication services (ITU)
MSU REFERENCE DESK, 1 CENTER
HE7601 .Y43 1995/2004
Most comprehensive source of telecommunications statistics.
Links to National Statistics Sites
"Links to telecommunication statistics compiled by national telecommunication ministries, regulatory agencies and industry associations as well as international organizations and consultancies." (ITU)

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. and International reports, data, and news for industries, companies and brands, economy, and consumers. It focuses more on the consumer products and services but also also contains sections supply sections for ingredients and packaging.

Datasets: Journalism

Pew research Center Media & News Datasets
Annual data sets from the Pew Center's News Coverage Index and more. Free registration required.

Using Statistics

The Curious Journalist's Guide to Data by Jonathan Stray
Publication Date: 2016
A guide to quantitatively thinking through evidence and argument.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Journalism Research Guide: Data & Statistics