Skip to main content
Michigan State University

IAH 201 - U.S. And The World: Finding Journal Articles

This course focuses on sport and sporting culture in the US and abroad. It will examine how sport has affected and continues to affect the relationship that the U.S. has with itself and with the rest of the world.

Searching for Articles

To locate journal articles you need to begin your search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature on your topic.

From the MSU libraries home page, http://lib.msu.edu, choose E-Resources under Quick Links, and then choose Indexes on the left-hand side of the page.

If you are not sure which Index to search choose an Index from those listed below and click on the title. Once in the Index, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.

Relevant Electronic Indexes

Gale Literature Resource Center 

Literature Resource Center provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from all ages and literary disciplines in a single Internet-searchable service. Its resources cover more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with additional in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studies authors.

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. The source documents indexed include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

JSTOR

Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.

LION (Literature Online)

LION (Literature Online) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day.

Literature Criticism Online

Includes:

Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and others.

Project Muse

Two hundred journals from 29 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse.

ProQuest

ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.

PsycINFO

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries.

Sociological Abstracts

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

SPORTDiscus

Offers bibliographic access to the complete range of sport disciplines and subdisciplines, including sports medicine, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography and more.


Contact Info:

Sharon Ladenson: 

email - ladenson@msu.edu

phone - 517-884-0891

 

Sheila Bryant:

email - bryants@msu.edu

phone - 517-884-0896

Michigan State University