Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Human Development & Family Studies Library Resources: Scholarly Articles

Article Databases: Top Picks

Use a library database to find journal articles on your research topic.

If you are new to using indexes, this guide on Tips for Finding Articles will be useful.  If you need a refresher on how to identify scholarly journal articles, refer to the Scholarly vs. Popular articles chart.

Top Picks

Article Databases: Supplemental Resources

Supplemental Databases

Topics in human development and family studies often overlap with complementary areas of inquiry.  To that end, it may be useful to search within a multidisciplinary index, or other subject specific indexes.  The list below is NOT COMPREHENSIVE and is intended as a starting point to direct you towards indexes that are often relevant to human development and family studies topics.

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

General Social Sciences

Criminal Justice

Education

Family Studies & Human Ecology

Gender Studies

Gerontology

Law

Medicine & Nursing

Political Science

Public Policy

Social Work/Social Services

Sociology

Urban Studies

Article FAQs

How can I access the full text of an article I see listed in a database (e.g. PsycINFO)?

If the full-text of the article is not available in the index you used to locate the citation, use the "Find Text @ MSU" link to automatically search for the full-text.

If Find Text @ MSU does not automatically connect you to the full-text, do a journal/periodical title search in the library catalog to double-check our holdings.

If MSU does not subscribe to the journal in print or electronic, use Inter-Library Loan to request a copy of the article.

Distance students: If you see that MSU has the journal in print, use ILLiad to request a copy.

 

How do I find the full text if I just have an article citation?

Look up the title of the journal where the article is published in the library catalog.  Then, access the article via our print or electronic journal holdings.

For a complete step-by-step through the process go to the full tutorial on Locating a Known Journal Article from a Citation.

 

What kind of advanced search commands can I use in the library databases?

View this document on Advanced Searches for an explanation of various advanced search commands.

Michigan State University