Videos are searchable in the library catalog and in individual streaming video database collections. Most streaming video content from our database collections is uploaded into the library catalog and searchable there.
Please note that there may be lag-time in uploading library catalog records for recent updates to streaming video database collections. Searching in both the library catalog and in relevant streaming video databases is the best way to ensure a comprehensive search.
Location: 4 West, Main Library
Hours: Click here for calendar
Multimedia Collection materials circulate for seven days with a $1.00 per day fine for overdue titles. Recalls, holds, and renewals are not offered. Materials must be checked out and returned directly to the DMC location only.
The DMC is a closed stacks collection, meaning that it is not available for browsing. You must use the library catalog to identify titles and a staff member will retrieve the video for you.
Equipment to support the viewing of all video formats materials is available on-site in the DMC Media Lab.
Interlibrary loans are available for videos.
If the MSU Libraries do not own the video, you may request it from another library (at no charge) by following these instructions:
1. Double-check the MSU Library catalog and our streaming video databases. Please be certain the we do not own the item.
2. Fill out a request for an Interlibrary loan from our ILLiad service.
For more information about interlibrary loan please see InterLibrary Services.
Contact Carin Graves (firstname.lastname@example.org) to suggest a video purchase for HDFS. Purchase suggestions from students or faculty in other subject areas should be directed towards their subject librarian, or use the general suggest a purchase form.
Faculty may place videos on course reserve. This will keep videos intended for course use in the library for student viewing. Faculty may be able to arrange special permission to check out the reserved video for a classroom showing by contacting the DMC.