Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Human Development & Family Studies Library Resources: News Articles

Newspapers

Newspaper Guide

For a complete overview of all MSU newspaper resources, refer to the Newspaper Guide.

Please check out our News Literacy guide. 

Newspaper Indexes

Popular news magazines

Newsweekly Magazines

Newsweeklies focus on covering the most important and interesting news of the previous week and often contain in-depth feature articles.  They are usually moderate in nature and do not overtly push a specific point of view.

 

Quality and Opinion Magazines

Quality magazines are geared towards the educated class in level of content and intended audience.  Commentary and opinion is offered on political, social, economic, and literary issues.  Opinion magazines provide commentary and opinion that reinforce a particular political or social mindset.

National Political News

National Political News

A selected list of political news websites (both freely available and subscribtion resources).  When searching for general political news sources on the world wide web, be sure to consider if the source has any inherent political or social biases.

  • CQ Press Library
    Allows users to search a variety of CQ products including CQ's Politics in America, CQ Weekly and the CQ Researcher Plus Archive simultaneously or individually.
    • CQ Researcher
      Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year.  Each single-themed, 12,000-word report provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
    • CQ Weekly
      Only CQ Weekly reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week.  The CQ news team - by far the largest on Capitol Hill, with more than 100 reporters, editors and researchers - covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else.  CQ Weekly Online includes an archive dating back to 1983. Search by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved.
    • Roll Call
      CQ's daily newspaper: "The newspaper of Capitol Hill since 1955."  Limited access through the website; for full-text use the library subscription access.
  • Congress.org
    Congress.org is a nonpartisan news and information Web site devoted to encouraging civic participation. Our mission is to provide information about public policy issues of the day and tips on effective advocacy so that citizens can make their voices heard.  A project of the CQ-Roll Call group.
  • C-SPAN.org
    C-SPAN is a private, non-profit company, created in 1979 by the cable television industry as a public service. Our mission is to provide public access to the political process. C-SPAN receives no government funding; operations are funded by fees paid by cable and satellite affiliates who carry C-SPAN programming.

 

Michigan News

Michigan Newspapers

  • MSU Michigan Newspaper Collection
    This research guide details all of our subscriptions to Michigan newspapers and provides links to access them.
  • Michigan Newspapers on ProQuest US Newsstream
    Includes five Michigan newspapers: Detroit Free Press (Jan. 1999-), Lansing State Journal (Nov. 2002-), Battle Creek Enquirer (May 2002-), Port Huron Times Herald (Nov. 29, 2002-), and Livingston County Daily Press & Argus (January 4, 2007-).
    ***To limit to articles about Michigan/in Michigan newspapers: Use the Advanced Search option.  Under the Search Options heading, enter Michigan for the Location.
  • Michigan News on LexisNexis Academic
    Includes Detroit News, Associated Press State & Local Wire, Crain's Detroit Business, Michigan Lawyer's Weekly.
    ***To limit to articles about Michigan: Use one of the Advanced Search options and limit the Geographic Location.
  • Michigan News on InfoTrac Newsstand
    Covers a number of newswire services that report on Michigan.
    ***To limit to articles about Michigan: Add in the keyword Michigan.
  • Michigan News on Google News
    ***To limit to articles from/about Michigan: Use the Advanced Search to specify the Location.

Michigan Political News

  • Gongwer News (Michigan Report)
    The Gongwer News Service provides daily updates on news related to Michigan government and politics. BUT, it is only fully accessible within the MSU Main Library (by IP address recognition). HOWEVER, the Red Tape blog frequently summarizes news from Gongwer.
  • Michigan Information & Research Service News (MIRS Capitol Capsule)
    MIRS provides comprehensive news and analysis of state government delivered in written reports detailing the activities of the House, Senate, Judicial and Executive branches of Michigan state government. MSU now subscribes!
  • Inside Michigan Politics
    "Analyzes political and policy trends for several thousand readers, including corporations, trade associations, labor unions, government agencies, the White House and several foreign governments." Only headlines and archived issues (6 months+) are available online. Library subscription is print only.
  • Dome Magazine
    Dome magazine covers “the people, issues and events shaping Michigan politics and policy.”

Michigan Legal News

  • Michigan Lawyers Weekly
    Michigan Lawyers Weekly, a legal newspaper founded in 1986, reports on legal opinions from state and federal courts in Michigan, as well as changes to court rules, verdict & settlement reports, attorney and judicial discipline matters and all other news vital to attorneys in the state. Some freely available content, such as the blog, for other fulltext go through our subscription.
Michigan State University