Skip to main content
A new research database from the American Psychological Association that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test, its development and administration.
- Commissioned Reviews of 250 Psychological Tests
Call number: BF 176 .C65 2000 (2 volumes)
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 Center
A listing of newer (1990's) tests that may not be well known. Most items are available in journal articles, some are commercially published. Each entry offers a description, validity, reliability, evaluation and references in addition to title, author, and source. Listings are arranged in broad categories with an author and subject index in Volume 2. The set's British origins might have some impact on U.S. availability.
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
Call number: BF 431 .G624
Title index for the Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures : volumes 1-7
Call number: BF431 .J36 2001
Location for both: Main Library Reference, 1 Center
The Directory lists noncommercial experimental test instruments from 37 journals. There are currently 9 volumes, the nineth, published in 2008 covers 2001-2005 and contains cumulative subject and authors indexes to all volumes. The subject index is a good quality descriptive index. Entries are grouped by category (e.g.: attitude, creativity, family, perception, values, etc.) and include: name of text; purpose; description--number of items, time, format, reliability, and validity; source of listing, and related relevant research.
- Tests in Microfiche
Call number: LB 3051 .T442
Location: Indexes in Main Library Reference, 1 Center; Test Microfiche in Microforms on 2 West
This comes as a set of fiche and an index from Educational Testing Service. It had come annually but has not been produced since 2005. The instruments included may be reproduced for review or research. Some cumulative indexing is available, but this is not a "user friendly" set, please ask for help as needed.
- ETS Test Collection Catalog
Call number: LB 3051 .E79
Location: Main Library , 4 East
Most volumes from 1986, there is a 1993 edition of vol. 1. The Educational Testing Service has an extensive library of both commercial and unpublished tests. Their series of ETS Test Collection Catalogs serves as a guide to available tests in the collection. The series is divided into volumes based on the type of instrument:
Volume 1: Achievement Tests and Measurement Devices
Volume 2: Vocational Tests and Measurement Devices
Volume 3: Tests for Special Populations
Volume 4: Cognitive Aptitude and Intelligence Tests
Volume 5: Attitude Tests
Volume 6: Affective Measures and Personality Tests
Volumes are arranged in accession number order with Subject, Author and Title indexes. Each entry provides identification, description, and availability information for the test. In the case of non-commercial tests the catalog often includes specific journal or ERIC document citation.
- Measures for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and Their Applications
Call number: BF 698.5 .C45
Location: Main Library, 2 East.
This is a comprehensive bibliography of measures of mental health and related concepts utilized in the literature between 1960 and 1970. The text is a rather inelegant computer printout of each measure that includes its author, source, subject classification and subsequent use. It is this later information that sets this publication apart, since the listing of all the times that each instrument has been used in the ten year period makes it easier to identify popular measures. There is an author and descriptor index for the tests.