Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Tests and Testing Information: Web Resources

A guide to research instruments--it's complicated, don't hesitate to ask for help.

Associations

American Evaluation Association
An international professional association of evaluators in the areas of program evaluation, personnel evaluation, and technology. This web site includes association information, testing guidelines and links to other relevant web sites maintained by the Association and its Topical Interest Groups.

APA Testing and Assessment
APA's Testing Office offers an FAQ about psychological tests, a testing information clearinghouse with links to several full text and sale items, and a list of links to other testing sites.

Association of Test Publishers
The Association of Test Publishers is a non-profit group of test and assessment tools providers working to promote the integrity of assessment services. The "Testing Issues" section offers an FAQ entitled Questions about Testing and a Policy Statement on Fair Access to Psychological Tests. 

Canadian Evaluation Society
Information about the association, links and a Grey Literature database with access to unpublished documents which may be of interest to evaluators.

CRESST (Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, and Student Testing)
Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, CRESST conducts research on important topics related to K-12 educational testing. The full text of their research reports is available on the web.

Michigan Association for Evaluation
In addition to the information about the organization, includes a search engine to locate evaluators by location and subject, and an unannotated list of links.

Online Evaluation Resource Library
Funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF), OERL was developed for professionals seeking to design, conduct, document, or review project evaluations. Resources include instruments, plans, and reports from evaluations that have proven to be sound and representative of current evaluation practices.

Resources for Methods in Evaluation and Social Research
This page lists resources for methods in evaluation and social research. The focus is on "how-to" do evaluation research and the methods used: surveys, focus groups, sampling, interviews, and other methods. Most of these links are to resources that can be read over the web. The site is hosted by The International Consortium for the Advancement of Academic Publication.

Commercial Sites

ACT Inc. (Formerly American College Testing Program)
ACT, Inc. is an independent, nonprofit organization that is best known for its college admissions testing program. It also has a broad range of programs and services in the areas of college admissions and advising, career and educational planning, student aid, continuing education, and professional certification and licensure.

The College Board
The College Board is a national association of schools, colleges, and other educational organizations dedicated to putting college within the reach of all students. In addition to offering the SAT and PSAT, the College Board also sponsors the Advanced Placement Program (AP)tests; ExPAN, the comprehensive guidance and admission network; the College Handbook, a publication to help students find the college that's right for them; Financial Aid Services to help families figure out how to pay for college.

ETS  (Educational Testing Service)
A nonprofit test development organization, ETS is home of such well known instruments at GRE, TOEFL, and AP tests.  They provide an online index to the supporting documentation for their work called Online Research Library.  ETS maintains an extensive test library and has an online test collection search feature called TestLink.

M.D. Angus & Associates Ltd.
This is a Canadian Test Consultant firm. While they specialize in pre-employment testing, they provide information on educational and psychological test of many kinds. The site offers an online catalog with descriptive information about the tests and books the firm sells and a good bit of full text information about test selection, purchase and administration.

Pro-Ed Online
Pro-Ed publishes nationally standardized tests, texts, curricular and therapy materials, and professional journals. Their online catalog offers a search function and lists detailed information about each test.

Educational Sites

Authentic Assessment Toolbox
Professor Jon Mueller provides resources about Standards, Tasks, Rubrics, and Portfolios in the service of authentic assessment. The site also contains significant background information on assessment.

Fast Track Project
A listing of instruments from this long term interuniversity child development study - Washington University, Vanderbilt University, Duke University, and Penn State University.

Harvard Family Research Project
This is a general site for the Project. It includes Evaluation Exchange a quarterly national newsletter on evaluating family support programs and systems reform initiatives.

Full Text Documents

APA Statement on Use of Tests in Education
APA's Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA) Statement on the Use of Secure Psychological Tests in the Education of Graduate and Undergraduate Psychology Students.

Code of Fair Testing Practices
Prepared by the Joint Committee on Testing Practices, The Code of Fair Testing Practices in Education states the major obligations to test takers of professionals who develop or use educational tests. The Code is meant to apply broadly to the use of tests in education (admissions, educational assessment, educational diagnosis, and student placement).

Depression Anxiety Stress Scales
Offered by the School of Psychology at the University of New South Wales, the DASS is a set of three self-report scales designed to measure the negative emotional states of depression, anxiety and stress.

Measuring Violence-Related Attitudes, Behaviors, and Influences Among Youths: A Compendium of Assessment Tools.
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this compendium provides researchers and prevention specialists with a set of tools to assess violence-related beliefs, behaviors, and influences, as well as to evaluate programs to prevent youth violence.

FAQ on Locating Psychological Tests (APA)
APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but it does provide guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests.

Position Statement of the American Educational Research Association Concerning High-Stakes Testing in PreK-12 Education
From the opening paragraph: "The AERA seeks to promote educational policies and practices that credible scientific research has shown to be beneficial, and to discourage those found to have negative effects. From time to time, the AERA issues statements setting forth its research-based position on educational issues of public concern. One such current issue is the increasing use of high-stakes tests as instruments of educational policy." There are several scholarly responses to this position paper also available on the web site.

Program Evaluation Standards
Sound evaluations of educational programs, projects, and materials in a variety of settings should have four basic attributes: Utility, Propriety, Feasibility, and Accuracy. The "Program Evaluation Standards," established by sixteen professional associations, identify evaluation principles that when addressed should result in improved program evaluations containing the above four attributes.

Self-Report Measures
From the University of Miami Department of Psychology a listing of scales made available for use in research and teaching applications. All are available without charge and without any need for permission.

Michigan State University