Skip to main content
Michigan State University

African American History: Selected Resources in the MSU Libraries: Bibliographies (By Region & State)

Regions and States

Alabama
Blacks in Alabama, 1528-1865
  

Colorado
Bibliography of African Americans in Colorado and the West

Georgia,
Negro progress in Atlanta, Georgia, 1961-1970; a selective bibliography
 

Minnesota
Bibliography of Negro history: selected and annotated entries, general and Minnesota  

Blacks in Minnesota : a preliminary guide to historical sources  

Mississippi,
Black press in Mississippi, 1865-1985

New Jersey
Negro and New Jersey... 1764-1964

North Carolina 
North Carolina African-American Baptist research sources

Ohio
Blacks in the state of Ohio, 1800-1976 : a preliminary survey

Oregon
Blacks in the State of Oregon, 1788-1974

Southern States
Southern Black: slave and free; a bibliography

Western States

African Americans in the American West : A Selective Bibliography

Bibliography of African Americans in Colorado and the West

Blacks and Their Contributions To The American West: A Bibliography And Union List Of Library Holdings Through 1970

Blacks in the American West and Beyond--America, Canada, and Mexico : A Selectively Annotated Bibliography

Blacks in the American West: A Working Bibliography

Blacks in the Pacific Northwest, 1788-1974 : a bibliography of published works and of unpublished source materials on the life and contributions of Black people in the Pacific Northwest

Narrative Bibliography of the African-American Frontier : Blacks in the Rocky Mountain West, 1535-1912

Voices of the Buffalo Soldier : records, reports, and recollections of military life and service in the West

Michigan State University