Skip to main content
Michigan State University

African American History: Selected Resources in the MSU Libraries: Collection Guides

Guides

Amistad research center (Tulane University)

Atlanta University

Guide to manuscripts and archives in the Negro collection of Trevor Arnett Library, Atlanta University  

Avery Research Center (College of Charleston)

Columbia University
Institute for Research in African-American Studies

Hampton Institute

Guide to the Archives of Hampton Institute. 

Peabody Collection 

Harvard University

Guide to African American and African primary sources at  Harvard University

Revealing documents : a guide to African American manuscript sources in the Schlesinger Library and the Radcliffe College Archives 

W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for Afro-American Research 

Library of Congress
African-American Mosaic : A Library Of Congress Resource Guide For The Study Of Black History And Culture

Midwestern States
Black women in the Middle West Project : a comprehensive resource guide, Illinois and Indiana : historical essays, oral histories, biographical profiles, and document collections    

National Archives and Records Administration 

“African American History & Federal Records” Special Issue of Prologue: A Quarterly Publication of the National Archives and Records Administration (Summer 1997, Vol. 29, No. 2) 

Black family research : records of post-Civil War federal agencies at the National Archives   

Black studies : select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications   

Federal records pertaining to Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, Kansas (1954)  

Federal records relating to civil rights in the post-World War II era     

Records of military agencies relating to African Americans from the Post-World War I period to the Korean War   

Records of the field offices for the state of Louisiana, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1863-1872   

Records of the Mississippi Freedmen's Department ("pre-Bureau records"), Office of the Assistant Commissioner, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1863-1865 

Pennsylvania State Archives

African American Resources at the Pennsylvania State Archives  

Guide to African American resources at the Pennsylvania State Archives    

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York Public Library) 

University of California at Berkeley

Afro-Americana : a research guide to collections at the University of California at Berkeley    

Virginia

Afro-American Sources In Virginia : A Guide To Manuscripts 

Virginia Black History Archives  

Xavier University of Louisiana. Library.

Guide to the Heartman manuscripts on slavery 

Yale University Library.

Music, printed and manuscript, in the James Weldon Johnson Memorial Collection of Negro Arts and Letters : an annotated catalog 

Michigan State University