Skip to main content
Michigan State University

KIN 445: Sociocultural Analysis of Physical Activity: Finding Journal Articles

This course looks at the Sociocultural context of and social practices in sport and physical activity.

Searching for Articles

To locate journal articles you need to begin your search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature on your topic.

From the MSU libraries home page, http://lib.msu.edu, choose E-Resources under Quick Links, and then choose Indexes on the left-hand side of the page.

If you are not sure which Index to search, there is a heading for Kinesiology under Browse Indexes by Subject, or choose an Index from those listed below and click on the title. Once in the Index, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.

Relevant Electronic Kinesiology Indexes

 

Social Sciences Full Text

An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

SPORT Discus

Offers bibliographic access to the complete range of sport disciplines and subdisciplines, including sports medicine, applied physiology, training, sport techniques , coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography and more. Sport and physical activity plany an important role in promoting an healthy lifestyle and SPORTDiscus covers this area as well as the subject areas of physical fitness, recreation, sport for all and active living.

 

PUBMED

PubMed is the premier search engine for biomedical and life sciences information.

 

Science Direct

Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.

PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.

Web of Science

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanitites, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

 

Subject Guide

Sheila Bryant's picture
Sheila Bryant
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, WG-1G
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0896
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University