Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Collections Deals: Journal deals and backfiles

Listing of big deals for collections

Journal Deals and Backfile listings

ACM Digital Library and ACM Digital Library Proceedings are published by the Association for Computing Machinery.  Each provides full access to transactions, proceedings, etc.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, a Readex compilation of miscellaneous African American journals from this time period.  Also searchable by state.

American Chemical Society Legacy Archives provides full-text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995.        

American Institute of Physics Digital Archive covering 1930 to 2003.  Includes AIP journals and proceedings.

We have puchased an Elsevier journal bundle from 2011-2015 through the CIC.

We have also purchased selected Elsevier journal backfiles (content up to 1994) for Agriculture & Biological Sciences, Chemistry (includes Organic, Inorganic, Physical & Analytical, and Chemical Engineering), Immunology & Microbiology, Neuroscience, and Physics, as well as the series Methods in Enyzomology. 

The full list of Elsevier journal backfiles is:

SCIENCEDIRECT BACKFILE:
AGRICULTURAL & BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES
BIOCHEMISTRY, GENETICS & MOLECULAR BIOLOGY
BUSINESS, MANAGEMENT, AND ACCOUNTING
CELL PRESS E-JOURNALS
CHEMISTRY AND PHYSICS
DECISION SCIENCES
ECONOMICS, ECONOMETRICS & FINANCE
ENERGY AND POWER
ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY
ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE
HIGH ENERGY/NUCLEAR PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY
IMMUNOLOGY & MICROBIOLOGY
MATERIALS SCIENCE
MATHEMATICS
MEDICINE & DENTISTRY
NEUROSCIENCE
NURSING AND HEALTH PROFESSIONS
PHARMACOLOGY, TOXICOLOGY & PHARMACEUTICS
VETERINARY SCIENCE AND VETERINARY MEDICINE

Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.  We have purchased collections 1-10 and British Periodicals Collection 1 and 2.

Sage E-Journal package (all subjects currently available).  Acquired via MCLS (formerly MLC). Deal holds down inflationary increases. (November 2012)

Springer journal backfiles (content up to 1995) in Behavioral Science, Biomedical & Life Science, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Science, Engineering, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, and Humanities, Social Sciences & Law. We now should have all Springer backfiles. 

Taylor & Francis Chemistry and Physics Online Archive covering 1958 to 1996

Wiley e-journal package renewal is in process 10/10

The Wiley journals backfiles (content up to 1994) we have are:

BIOTECHNOLOGY, BIOCHEMISTRY AND BIOPHYSICS
CELL & DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY
CIVIL ENGINEERING
GENETICS AND EVOLUTION
MATERIALS SCIENCE 
MATHEMATICS
MICROBIOLOGY
VETERINARY MEDICINE

Michigan State University