Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Research Methods Resources - Kinesiology: Finding Journal Articles

Search Strategy Worksheet

http://image.slidesharecdn.com/literaturereviewsliteraturesearches-130612122451-phpapp01/95/literature-reviews-literature-searches-17-638.jpg?cb=1371040077

Searching for Articles

To locate journal articles you need to begin your search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature on your topic.

From the MSU libraries home page, http://www.lib.msu.edu, choose E-Resources under Quick Links, and then choose Databases on the left-hand side of the page.

If you are not sure which Index to search, there is a heading for Kinesiology under Browse the Database list by Subject, Title or Vendor or choose an Database from those listed below and click on the title. Once in the Index, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.

 

Keep in mind there is not always a direct link to the full text of the article from the index/database. Check the online catalog for the title of the Journal. The catalog will tell you if the MSU Libraries owns the title and if it is available in print and/or online.

 

Relevant Electronic Kinesiology Indexes

 

PUBMED

PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

PubMed is the premier search engine for biomedical and life sciences information. It provides web access to bibliographic information, including literature citations, abstracts, and electronic journal articles.

 

Science Direct

Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.

 

Embase

Is Elsevier's web-based service for Biomedical and Pharmacological Information. Records date back to 1947.

 

Scopus

Elsevier's Abstract and Citation database of peer-reviewed literature that covers the areas of Medicine, Biological Sciences, Physics and more.

PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES (on CSA Illumina)

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.

 

ERIC

This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Web of Science

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanitites, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Sociological Abstracts

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference paper.

Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet)

SBRnet is an online international sport marketing & business information provider focusing on sport participation; fan profiles; sport facilities; sport finance; sporting goods; sponsorship; marketing; media and directories.

 

 

Subject Guide

Sheila Bryant's picture
Sheila Bryant
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, WG-1G
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0896
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University