Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Pharmacology and Toxicology Online Masters Program: Using the MSU Libraries: Finding Scientific Articles

Using Databases

To find scientific articles in biomedical, pharmacological, and clinical topics, use the following databases. Start with PubMed! Most of the time, you'll find what you need there.

  • PubMed: This is the main database to use when you're looking for research on any health sciences topic. It is run by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), a part of the National Institute of Health (NIH).
  • Embase: Embase cover some of the same territory as PubMed, but it has much better coverage of research done by European scientists. It is also a particularly good place to search for drug information.
  • Scifinder: Scifinder contains chemical, biochemical, and medical information. To use it, you will need to create a free account. 
  • Scopus: Scopus is a more general science database than Embase and PubMed. It contains articles on any kind of science, not just the health sciences. Use Scopus when you haven't found anything in one of the health sciences databases, or if your topic is related to different areas of science (for example, if your topic is somehow related to geology or plant biology, you may want to look here).
  • Toxnet: Toxnet, like PubMed, is a resource run by the US government. It is actually a collection of smaller databases, but you can search them all at the same time. It is the best place to look for information on specific chemicals and products. To decide which of their databases you need, you can visit the Which Resource Should I Choose? page here. 
  • Web of Science: Web of Science, like Scopus, is a general science database. Search here if your topic extends outside of the health sciences.

If You Know What Article You Want

Sometimes you already know which article you want without a database. Or sometimes the database won't let you download full text of the article for some reason. In that case, you can use this video to help you find the article through the library's catalog. Note that the library website interface has changed since this video was made. To search for journals, click on the "journal" link under the search box.

Pharm/Tox Librarian

Chana Kraus-Friedberg's picture
Chana Kraus-Friedberg
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-8462

Getting Print Articles

If the article you need is only available in print, you can have a copy emailed to you free through MSU's MARS system

If MSU does not subscribe to the journal you need, you can request a copy of the article through Inter-Library Loan

Michigan State University