Use a library database (aka index) to find journal articles on your research topic. The list of indexes below is not comprehensive, but points to the most popular indexes. A complete list of subject-specific indexes is available at the main Indexes page.
Human Development and Family Studies
Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ (FSSW) is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present, indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.
Social Services and Public Policy
- Social Services Abstracts
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
PAIS International and
PAIS Archive covers topical public and social issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. Worldwide in geographic scope,
PAIS International and
PAIS Archive indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish that deal with public affairs.
Other Social Sciences
A U.S. national bibliographic database covering the journal and research literature in the field of education.
- Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
Access all major law reviews, and specialty law and bar association journals.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage is for articles published from 1952-present.