Skip to main content
Michigan State University

InterLibrary Services: Requesting Articles/Book Chapters

Guide outlines the various services available to the MSU community and to borrowing and lending partners around the globe.

Tips for Finding Articles

WHEN YOU HAVE A CITATION

To find an article when you have a citation (e.g. from a bibliography), you can search for the journal title in the MSU library catalog.

If we don't subscribe to the journal, you can request a scanned copy of the article by submitting a request (see middle section on this page for more details).

it is also possible to search Google Scholar to determine if the article is available.  In order to use Google Scholar, you will need to manually configure it to know that you are at MSU.  Instructions to do this are available on our Connect to Google Scholar page.



SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES BY KEYWORD

To find articles on a particular topic, use an article index, a list of which can be found on the library’s Electronic Resources page under Indexes. To find relevant databases, use the drop down list under the heading, "Browse Indexes by Subject".

Your search will yield a list of citations to articles, and many will link right to the articles themselves online. Look for the "Full Text," "PDF" or “Find Full Text @MSU” links.

Requesting Articles or Book Chapters

1. Verify MSU's holdings in our library catalog or use our A-Z listing of MSU's electronic journal titles. 

2. If the periodical you need is not available, you are ready to try interlibrary loan. Here's a few helpful hints:

  • Help us find exactly what you need by providing the ISSN. 
  • Note that some serials change titles one or more times during their publication history; make sure that the number you provide includes the years that correspond to your request.

To submit a request for a book chapter, follow the same procedure as you would to submit an article; choose "Book Chapter" from the left-hand side menu in ILLiad or, if you are a Distance User (>50 miles from Campus), use the copy option.

  • Each chapter requires a separate request.
  • In most cases, a library may provide a maximum of 2-3 chapters, or 50 pages. We reserve the right to cancel any requests that exceed a library's copying limit. If you need more than two chapters out of a volume, please submit a loan request and we will try to obtain the volume itself.

 

Notice Concerning Copyright Restrictions

 The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.Under certain conditions specified in the Law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproductions. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of that order would involve violation of the law.

Subject Guide

Cen Cheng
Contact:
517-884-4987
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University