These are good places to get started with background on the issue as well as identifying additional sources and experts.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights - Reference JC 571 . E673 2009 (5 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945 - Also available in Main Library Stacks JC 571 .L2749 1999
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide - Main Library Stacks HV 6322 .H67 2011 (2 volumes)
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations - Main Library Stacks JC 571 . G655 2007
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses and Remedies - JC 571 .M3334 2000
I utilized many of these sites in creating thhis site. These guides offer more pertinent sources. Note that some of the things they link to, are available only to their clientele.
Human Rights Documentation - From the UN Dag Hammarskjold Library
Human Rights Documentation Initiative - From University of Texas Libraries includes Websites, reports, audio, video, photographs on human rights struggles that are produced by individuals or small organizations who lack resources and opportunities for widespread distribution of their work.
Human Rights Law Research Guide - From the folks at the Georgetown University Law Library
Human Rights Research Guide - from Law Library at Columbia University
Human Rights Reports - country by country reports from the State Department
Financial Tracking Service - (tracking global humanitarian aid flows)
humanrights.gov - the public interface for State Department Human Rights information)
US State Department Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor -
MSU Libraries are adding more and more video content. This includes DVDs and streaming video links that we purchase. Use the catalogue by typing your keywords and limited the search of material types to video/visuals. DVDs are housed in the Digital Media Center on 4 West and are generally available for a 7 day lending period.
Streaming videos can be viewed on your computer 24/7, assuming you have MSU access.
African Charter on Human and People's Rights
American Convention on Human Rights
Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women
Convention on the Political Rights of Women
Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide
Convention on the Rights of the Child
Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees
Geneva Convention (III) Relative to the Treatement of Prisoners of War.
Geneva Convention (IV) Relative to the Protection of Civilan Persons
Human Rights Treaties and Other Instruments - a database compiled by the University of Minnesota Human Rights Library. Comprehensive by subject and alphabetical covers UN, OAS, EU, etc.
International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racism
International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights
International Covenant on Social, Economic, and Cultural Rights
Universal Declaration of Human Rights - history and impact of UNDHR and relationships to domestic law.
European Court of Human Rights
Inter-American Court of Human Rights
International Court of Justice
U.S. Institute of Peace Truth Commissions Digital Collection
Wikipedia Truth Commissions Entry and Links
Argentina
Las Comisiones de la Verdad en America Latina (National Commission on the Disappeared)
Bolivia
Las Comisiones de la Verdad en America Latina (National Commission on the Disappeared)
Cambodia
Cambodian Genocide Program Yale University website providing access to documents, translations, maps, books and research papers on the genocide as well as a rich archive on the Khmer Rouge regime's security police, the Santebal.
Chad
Commission of Inquiry into the Crimes and Misappropriations Committed by Ex-President Habré: Chad: Truth Commissions: Library and Links: U.S. Institute of Peace: decree establishing the commission
Chile
Report of the Chilean National Commission on Truth and Reconciliation
East Timor
Commission for Reception, Truth and Reconciliation in East Timor
El Salvador
El Salvador: Truth Commissions
Fiji
Germany
Nazi War Crimes Interagency Working Group
Haiti
National Truth and Justice Commission
Liberia
Liberia Truth and Reconciliation Commission
Peru
Truth and Reconciliation Commission
Sierra Leone
The Special Court for Sierra Leone
South Africa
Political Science Complete. Provides full text for over 500 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 1995 journals. The database also features more than 189 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). Indexes and selectively publishes post-1990 scholarship and reports on international affairs. Provides full-text access to relevant Columbia University Press titles and many recent journals, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. CIAO also has links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign govenment sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services.
African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights
Council of Europe's Directorate General of Human Rights and the Rule of Law
Council of Europe - portal to many parts of the COE dealing with aspects of human rights
European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
United Nations Human Rights - portal to many parts of the UN system dealing with human rights