Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Peace and Justice Studies: Peace/Conflict Resolution

Related to MSU's Program on Peace and Justice Studies

Other tools to useful material

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict  3 volumes.  Main Library Stacks HM 291 .E623 1999 - Offers synopses of important history, figures, approaches, and theories.

Global Peace Index  - The world's leading measure of national peacefulness, the GPI measures peace according to 23 qualitative and quantitative indicators. 

Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) . Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and more. Titles like Journal of Peace Research, Journal of Conflict Resolution and International Journal of Refugee Law are all found in the database. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, with coverage dating as far back as 1964, and also updates the content on a weekly basis to incorporate the latest research.

Plowshares Digital Archive of Peace Studies - A collaboration of Earlham, Goshen, and Manchester colleges, the Plowshares Digital Archive for Peace Studies provides primary documents - including minutes, diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals - ranging in date from the 1700s to the present.

SIPRI Yearbook - Main Library Stacks UA 10 .S7 - (latest edition in Reference) - from the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute annual compilation of data and background on armaments, military, and peace efforts.

World Encyclopedia of Peace 8 volumes. Main Library Stacks JX 1944 .W67 1999 - Provides useful background information on issues, history, important figures, etc.

Peace Research Institutes and Organizations

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace - at the forefront of of international peace and conflict resolution research.

Center for Systemic Peace -The focus of CSP research is on the possibilities of complex systemic management of all manner of societal and systemic conflicts. The Center regularly monitors and reports on general trends in societal-system performance, at the global, regional, and state levels of analysis and in the key systemic dimensions of conflict, governance, and (human and physical) development in the sincere belief that the foundation and guarantor of good governance is an active, informed public.

International Crisis Group - The International Crisis Group is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict.

Mayors for Peace 2020 Vision Camapign - a leading international organization devoted to protecting cities from the scourge of war and mass destruction.  The 2020 Vision Campaign aims to establish a nuclear-weapon-free world by the year 2020.

Pax Christi International - Pax Christi International is a non-profit, non-governmental Catholic peace movement working on a global scale on a wide variety of issues in the fields of human rights, human security, disarmament and demilitarisation, just world order and religion and violent conflict.

Peace Alliance - network of local voluneer based peacebuilding teams in the United States.

Peace and Justice Studies Association - The Peace and Justice Studies Association (PJSA) is a non-profit organization that was formed in 2001 as a result of a merger of the Consortium on Peace research, Education and Development (COPRED) and the Peace Studies Association (PSA). Both organizations provided leadership in the broadly defined field of peace, conflict and justice studies.

Peace Brigades International - PBI is an international NGO that has been promoting nonviolence and protecting human rights since 1981. Their work is based on the principles of non-partisanship and non-interference in the internal affairs of the organisations we accompany.

PRIO International Peace Research Institute -PRIO was founded in 1959 and became a fully independent institute in 1966. It was one of the first centres of peace research in the world, and it is Norway's only peace research institute. Its founding and early influence were instrumental in projecting the idea of peace research. It is the parent institution of the Centre for the Study of Civil War.

Search for Common Ground - works to transform the way the world deals with conflict - away from adversarial approaches and towards collaborative problem solving.

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) -Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public. SIPRI is named as one of the world's leading think tanks in Foreign Policy magazine's "Think Tank Index".

Tampere Peace Research Institute - is a multidisciplinary and international research centre, whose mission is to conduct high quality research on war and conflicts. Apart from the causes of war and conflicts, the research focuses on the possibilities of peaceful change and the resolution of conflicts through peace-building, mediation, and reconciliation

United States Institute of Peace (USIP) -USIP is the independent, nonpartisan conflict management center created by Congress to prevent and mitigate international conflict without resorting to violence. USIP works to save lives, increase the government's ability to deal with conflicts before they escalate, reduce government costs, and enhance our national security.

Uniting for Peace - International NGO working for creating and promoting a global culture of peace, disarmament, and sustainable development

Veterans for Peace - inform the public of the true causes of war and the enormous costs of wars, with an obligation to heal the wounds of wars. Our network is comprised of over 140 chapters worldwide whose work includes: educating the public, advocating for a dismantling of the war economy, providing services that assist veterans and victims of war, and most significantly, working to end all wars.

Subject Guide

Local Peace Organizations

Greater Lansing Network Against War and Injustice (GLNAWI)  is a membership organization seeking to end war and promote social justice through advocacy, education and action.

Michigan Peace Team - empower people to engage in active nonviolent peacemaking. 

Pax Christi Michigan -  works to bring about peace locally, nationally, and globally through prayer, study, and action.

Peace Education Center -  a community with the belief that all life has value. They work to promote compassion and awareness of the world’s potential for interdependence and lasting peace.

Michigan State University