Skip to main content
Michigan State University

JRN 425: History of Journalism: Major Research Collections

Resources

TIME SPAN

TITLE

TYPE OF RESOURCE

DESCRIPTION

1473-1700 Early English Books Online (EEBO) Web-based database Scanned copies of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere.
1543-1945 Gerritssen Collection/Women's History Online  Web-based database Scanned copies of 265 periodical titles and over 4,400 monographs and pamphlets dealing with women's history.
1600-2000+ Women and social movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Web-based database Includes documents, highly specific questions and social movements.
1639-1800 Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Web-based database Resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. It consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides.
1675-1942 North American Women's Letters and Diaries Web-based database Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.
Colonial period to early 20th century Documenting the American South. Web-based database seven digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana.
1701-1800 Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Web-based database Scanned copies of 150,000 works published or printed in England, and other English-speaking places around the world (including the rest of the British Isles, the American colonies, and the early United States).
1741 through the 1930s American Periodical Series
  • Microfilm -- MICROFILM 313a, 313b, & 313c
  • Guide: MICROFORM GUIDES Z6951 .H65
Articles in 1,028 periodicals
1789-present Proquest Congressional Web-based database Includes Congressional Record 1789-2001, Congressional Hearings 1824-2003, Congressional Serial Set, Committee Prints 1830-present, CRS Reports 1916-present, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932, and U.S. Bills and Resolutions.
1800- Undercover Reporting   Web-based database
"...collects many decades of high-impact, sometimes controversial, mostly U.S.-generated journalism that used undercover techniques. It grows out of the research for Undercover Reporting: The Truth About Deception (Northwestern University Press, 2012), which argues that much of the valuable journalism since before the U.S. Civil War has emerged from investigations that employed subterfuge to expose wrong."
1800-1900 19th Century U.S. Newspapers Web-based database "...composed of approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. It includes titles from throughout the United States, including many published in what were, at the time, only territories."
1800-1950 North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories Web-based database Provides "a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950."
1801-1819 Early American Imprints Series II (Shaw Shoemaker 1801-1819)
 
Web-based database Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.
1820-1945 Agriculture and Rural Life in Michigan: 1820-1945 Web-based database References to books, pamphlets, serial publications, and theses & dissertations related to Michigan agriculture and rural life and published by state and local entities prior
to 1946.
1849-1922 America's Historical Newspapers Web-based database Fulltext access to partial runs of Jackson Citizen Patriot (1849-1922), Kalamazoo Gazette (1872-1919), Lake Superior Miner (1855-1870), Northern Islander (1850-1856), & Weekly Detroit Free Press (1886-1887)
1857-1912 HarpWeek Web-based database Indexing and full text of Harper's Weekly, an important journal documenting American society and culture during the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Gilded Age.
1890-current Readers' Guide Full Text Mega with Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 Print and online Citations to articles in popular magazines
1850-1877 Making of America (U. of Michigan portion)
Making of America (Cornell U. portion)
Web-based databases Full text of 8,000+ books & 150,000 journal articles from 19th century. You must search both databases to be comprehensive.
Michigan State University