Skip to main content
Michigan State University

AgNIC Viticulture: Reference Tools

MSU maintains the Viticulture information site within the AgNIC alliance. The site contains links to information and provides the opportunity to ask reference questions.

Viticulture History

History of Grape and Wine Industry in Arkansas, from the the University of Arkansas Enology and Viticulture Research Program.
Grape Culture [The history of viticulture in Texas] from the The Handbook of Texas Online.
"What Wondrous Life: the World of George Husmann" - an interpretive exhibit on the Hermann, Missouri resident who fathered the Missouri Wine Industry and saved the grapes of France, directed by Missouri Folklore Society's Dolph Schroeder.

Food & Nutrition

Agricultural Marketing Service of the USDA - Quality Standards: - [Scroll down to the Grape options in each category] Fresh Fruit and Vegtables, Fresh Fruit for Processing
From Harvest to Health: Grapes - From Harvest to Health is a program developed by University Extension and the Missouri Department of Agriculture to promote locally grown products. Products include apples, grapes, honey, peaches, rasberries and strawberries.
FRUITS: Energy and nutrition values per 100 grams eatable part - Grapes are listed alphabetically in the full table of fruits

General Reference & Education

MSU Resources:
Grapes.MSU.edu - AgBioResearch, Michigan State University Extension

Other Resources:
Access to Extension and Experiment Station Publications - A page of search engines and links dedicated to extension publications. Compiled by the United States Agricultural Information Network (USAIN). (Includes links to PlantFacts, E-Answers, and specific, regional search engines.)
Commodity Fact Sheets: What's at Stake for Grapes, from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Foreign Agricultural Service, July 2002 (in .pdf format)
Commodity Fact Sheets: What's at Stake for Wine, from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Foreign Agricultural Service, July 2002 (in .pdf format)
Fun with Grapes - A Case Study by Patrick R. Michaud - Abstract: Using only cheap, readily-available equipment, you can create a spectacular lightshow in the comfort of your very own kitchen, providing hours of fun and excitement for your family, friends, and pets! Ordinary grapes, when properly prepared and microwaved, spark impressively in an extremely entertaining manner. Introduction: We have made an important new discovery in the field of culinary entertainment. Properly prepared, the common seedless grape can be made to combust spectacularly when subjected to a short (5-10 second) duration of microwaves. This study was conducted based upon suggestions from dozens of IRC #root participants using locally available funds and equipment. (snipped)
And, "An investigation into the cause of sparks between grape halves when exposed to microwaves of varying intensity and direction at 2.54 GHz" - An essay discussing the Fun with Grapes - A Case Study from above.
Global Vineyard: Can technology take on a warming climate? by Sid Perkins. Science News Online, May 29, 2004; Vol. 165 No. 22, p. 347
Glossary of Terms Relating to Plant Diseases, by the HortResearch, Marlborough Research Centre
Guide to Sources of Information on Viticulture & Enology: This guide is intended for users of the viticulture and enology collection at Shields Library (University of California, Davis), however many of these resources are available elsewhere in the same or similar form.
Lon J. Rombough, grape expert, consultant, and author.
Online Grape Database - Historical Trends in Grape Production U.S. and Ohio (1960-1995), Ohio State University
Viniculture: Just in time for the celebration of New Year, join us as Talking History’s host, Bryan Le Beau, explores the history of wine making with Patrick McGovern, author of Ancient Wine: The Scientific Search for the Origins of Viniculture. Airdate: December 29, 2003. Listen Now: MP3 Format
The Wine Files - a project of the Sonoma County Wine Library to make its clipping files of articles on wine, winemaking, grape growing, the wine business and the history of wine accessible on the World Wide Web. The items in the database include citations, abstracts and links to articles in the technical, academic, trade and consumer wine magazines and journals. There are also newspaper articles, government documents, press releases, advertising brochures and other ephemera dealing with wine.

Statistical Resources

The 2002 Census of Agriculture provides national, state, and county-level information for primary crops (grapes but no wine) for the years 2002, 1997, 1992, and on occasion, 1987. From the home page, click on "Complete Volume," listed in the middle column, "Volume 1: Geographic Area Series: U.S., State, and County." The link, "Volume 1-Chapter 1: U.S. Summary National-Level Data" leads to nationwide data, accessible by individual tables in .pdf format. State data (with county-level statistics) is listed by name. There are two options, examining individual tables and examining the state's entire volume at once. Missouri, for instance, has a 713 page, .pdf document. Table 36. Specified Fruits and Nuts by Acres: 2002 and 1997, is the standard table across all states and nationally for grape acreage information. Also, Table 50. North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) lists grape vineyard (code 111332) information.
Alcohol Statistics - Wine, from the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) National Revenue Center in Cincinnati OH. Statistics are listed annually until 1995 and previous.
American Association of Wine Economists (AAWE) - Working Papers 1-21 - indexed and available in pdf format.
Commodity Fact Sheets: U.S. Proposal for Global Agricultural Trade Reform: What’s at Stake for Grapes? U.S. Department of Agriculture, Foreign Agricultural Service, July 2002. (In .pdf format)
Commodity Fact Sheets: U.S. Proposal for Global Agricultural Trade Reform: What’s at Stake for Wine? U.S. Department of Agriculture, Foreign Agricultural Service, July 2002. (In .pdf format)
Commodity Profile: Grapes, by the Ag. Marketing Resource Center.
Crop Production - This database reports grape production in two tables, Fruits and Nuts Production, U. S., whereas one table's units are in Tons, the other's Metric Tons. Reports are available 1995-2003, and are monthly for each year. All do not contain the same information, thus finding data pertaining to grapes requires examination of individual tables.
Crop Values - Grape crop information is presented in two tables, "Fruit and Nut Crops Price per Unit, U. S. ($/Ton)" and "Fruit and Nut Crops: Value of Production, U. S. ($)." The earliest online table, 1995, lists values back to 1992, thus online coverage extends from 1992 to the last full year.
Distilleries: 1997 Economic Census, Manufacturing, Industry Series. Issued December 1999. (In .pdf format)
Distilleries: 2002 Economic Census, Manufacturing, Industry Series. Issued September 2004. (In .pdf format)
Food and Beverage Stores: 2002 Economic Census, Retail Trade, Industry Series. Issued September 2004. (In .pdf format)
Food Services and Drinking Places: 2002 Economic Census, Accommodation and Food Services, Industry Series. Issued October 2004. (In .pdf format)
Grape Resources, from the Ag. Marketing Resource Center, Iowa State University.
Grapes - Foreign Agricultural Service, Horticultural & Tropical Products Division. Provides World and U. S. Production, Trade Statistics, and Market Information
FAOSTAT, an on-line database of records covering international statistics, including those on grapes and wines, is maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Grape and wine information can be found in the following databases: Agricultural Production: Crops primary and Crops processed; Commodity Balances: Crops Primary Equivalent; Food Supply: Crops Primary Equivalent; Food Balance Sheets; Producer Prices: Crops Primary.
Fruit and Nut Trees Yearbooks and Datasets are issued by the Economic Research Service, USDA. The information is primarily domestic, but includes import/export figures. Yearbooks are available online from 1995-2003. Not all of the information is in tables but in narrative format, especially in the earlier reports.
Fruit Wildlife Damage - This single report, from 1999, examines and assigns dollar values to damage caused by wildlife. Grape, apple, and blueberry crops were evaluated in the states of California, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Washington.

MKF Research LLC Report: Assessment of the Profitability and Viability of Virginia Wineries 2007 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Economic Impact of New York Grapes, Grape Juice and Wine, 2005 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Economic Impact of North Carolina Wine and Grapes. 2005 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Economic Impact of Pennsylvania Wine and Winegrapes 2005, issued October 2006 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Economic Impact of Washington Grapes and Wine 2006 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Economic Impact of Wine and Grapes on the Missouri Economy. September 2007 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Economic Impact of Wine and Vineyards in Napa County 2005 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Economic Impact of Wine and Winegrapes in Illinois 2005 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Economic Impact of Wine and Winegrapes in the Paso Robles AVA and Greater San Luis Obispo County 2007 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: The Economic Impact of Wine and Grapes in Napa County 2008 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: The Impact of Wine and Grapes on the State of Texas 2007(in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: The Impact of Wine and Grapes on the State of Texas 2005 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: The Impact of Wine, Grapes and Grape Products on the American Economy. Preliminary Findings – Wine and Winegrapes, March 2006 (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: The Impact of Wine, Grapes and Grape Products on the American Economy 2007: Family Businesses Building Value (in pdf format)
MKF Research LLC Report: Kentucky Wine Market Feasibility Assessment Final Report 2002 (in pdf format)

Central Regional Wine Industr from the Ag. Marketing Resource Center, Iowa State University.
Noncitrus Fruits and Nuts reports contain preliminary and annual summaries of grape acreage, yield, production, use, price, and values by states. Data, compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service, USDA, is presented in the file formats of text (for years 1995-2003), pdf (Adobe Acrobat; 1999-2003), and CSV (spreadsheet files; 2001-2003).
Raisin Situation and Outlook. August 2004. Foreign Agricultural Service. (In .pdf format)
Raisin Situation & Outlook. January 2005. Foreign Agricultural Service. (In .pdf format)
Vintage 2012: An Investment in Pennsylvania’s Economy: A Five-Year Plan to Double the Impact of Pennsylvania’s Vineyards & Wineries... on: Agriculture, Travel & Tourism, Commerce, Jobs & Taxes, [and] Land Preservation by investing $2 million/year as a Dedicated Revenue Stream to the Pennsylvania Wine & Grape Industry (In .pdf format)
Wine: World and U. S. Production, Trade Statistics & Market Information - This site from the Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) provide links to narrative, graphic and tabular displays of both grape and wine information. It is more that just international in scope as it provides links to U. S. and California production resources, and U. S. import, export, and tariff resources.
Wine: World Markets and Trade, Issued 04.06.2010.  (In .pdf format)
Wineries: 1997 Economic Census, Manufacturing Industry Series, Issued December 1999. (In .pdf format)
Wineries: 2002 Economic Census, Manufacturing Industry Series, Issued August 2004. (In .pdf format)
Wine (Enology) resources from the Ag. Marketing Resource Center, Iowa State University.

Laws, Regulations, Policies

Alcohal and Tabacco Tax and Trade Bureau  - Wine Division (Formerly known as the ATF)
Code of Federal Regulations - ATF Title 27, Volume 1, Parts 1 to 273
Grape Loss Adjustment Standards Handbook, 1998 and Succeeding Crop Year. USDA Federal Crop Insurance Corporation. (In pdf format)
Grape Loss Adjustment Standards Handbook, 2002 and Succeeding Crop Year. USDA Federal Crop Insurance Corporation. (In .pdf format)
Wine Institute's Federal Regulations - Regarding wine - 27 CFR
WineLaw - WineLaw is intended to be a place for the compliance, legislative, and regulatory community. It's the legal and compliance information division of Wine Institute, the trade association of West Coast wineries.

Vit/Wine Libraries

AGRICOLA - Online catalog of the National Agricultural Library
Bailey Hortorium Library - The Bailey Hortorium Library is a collection of botanical books, journals, and reprints, representing the personal library of Liberty Hyde Bailey combined with the library of the old Wiegand Herbarium at Cornell University
Cal. Poly Pomona University Library Special Collections - The Wine and Wine Industry Collection
Geneva Library, located on Cornell's New York State Agricultural Experiment Station campus, Geneva, NY
Lenn and Dixie Hannon Library, Southern Oregon University, Ashland, OR
Mann Library, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
Paul Evans Library of Fruit Science, Missouri State University, Mountain Grove Campus, Mountain Grove, MO.
Peter J. Shields Library, Viticulture & Enology Collection, University of California, Davis
Sonoma County Wine Library, this site also has links to its own compilation Oak in Winemaking: A Bibliography by Bo Simons and additional Californian grape and wine resources.
Vincent E. Petrucci Library - The Vincent E. Petrucci Library collects information on the subjects of viticulture and enology, and provides the materials, services, and facility necessary to meet current and future information needs of students, faculty, staff, and industry. Special emphasis is placed on offering viticulture materials, reference materials and services.
Washington State Grape Society Records, Washington State University Libraries
Wine Institute Library and Archives
Winefiles.org is a project of the Sonoma County Wine Library to make its files of articles on wine, winemaking, grape growing, the wine business and the history of wine accessible on the World Wide Web.

Michigan State University