Skip to main content
Michigan State University

AgNIC Viticulture: Cultivars and Germplasm

MSU maintains the Viticulture information site within the AgNIC alliance. The site contains links to information and provides the opportunity to ask reference questions.

Page Contents

Grape Cultivars
Norton/Cynthiana Grapes
Muscadine Grapes
Germplasm

Germplasm

Germplasm Resources Information Network (GRIN) - In 1990, the U.S. Congress authorized establishment of a National Genetic Resources Program (NGRP). It is the NGRP's responsibility to: acquire, characterize, preserve, document, and distribute to scientist germplasm of all lifeforms important for food and agricultural production, and provide a continuous flow of genes from source to end use, a continuum that keeps high-yielding varieties on the market; improves the quality of agricultural products; minimizes production costs; reduces dependence on pesticides, thus enhancing the quality of the environment; and minimizes the vulnerability of agriculturally important germplasm to pests and environmental stresses. The GRIN web server provides germplasm information about plants, animals, microbes and invertebrates. This program is within the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service.
Plant Genetic Resources Unit, Cornell University, Geneva, NY. The USDA - ARS PGRU helps conserve and utilize genetic resources of apple, cold-hardy grape, tart cherry, and certain vegetable crops. The PGRU cooperates with other National Plant Germplasm System units, federal agencies, universities, international research programs, non-governmental organizations, and is located on the Geneva Campus of Cornell University.

Grape Cultivars

MSU Resources:

Table Grape Varieties for Michigan, by Thomas J. Zabadal, G. Stanley Howell and David P. Miller, Feb. 1997
Wine Grape Varieties for Michigan, by Thomas J. Zabadal, G. Stanley Howell and David P. Miller, Feb. 1998

Other Resources:

Annual Report 2002: Evaluation of Wine Grape Cultivars and Selections for a Cool Maritime Climate by G.A. Moulton, G.H. Spitler, J. King, L.J. Price, R.S. Darland and T.R. Bronkema, Washington State University-Mount Vernon
Annual Report 2003: Evaluation of Wine Grape Cultivars and Selections for a Cool Maritime Climate by G.A. Moulton, G.H. Spitler, J. King, L.J. Price, R.S. Darland and T.R. Bronkema, Washington State University-Mount Vernon
Annual Report 2004: Evaluation of Wine Grape Cultivars and Selections for a Cool Maritime Climate by G.A. Moulton, G.H. Spitler, and J. King, Washington State University-Mount Vernon
Consorzio Cal-Italia: California Wineries Producing Italian Varietals - This site describe Italian grape varieties and the resulting wines produced by a consortia of Californian wineries.
Backyard Grapes by Michael Colt, Esmaeil Fallahi, Dan Barney and Terry Tindall, University of Idaho. (in .pdf format)
Cold Hardiness of Grapes: A guide for Missouri growers by Marilyn Odneal, Southwest Missouri State University
Deciduous Fruit & Nuts for the Low Desert [including grapes] by Lucy Bradley and Michael Maurer, University of Arizona (Link to pdf format which includes 5 additional pages of tables showing chilling hours, fruit color, heavy bearing, alternate bearing, cross polluation, and free stone information for each variety, as well as harvesting times for the Low Desert).
Economic Feasibility of Growing Wine Grapes in Idaho 
Encyclopedia: List of grape varieties (from Nationmaster.com)
Finding and Preserving Native American Grapes by Hank Becker, December 1, 1998. A more in-depth story about in situ preservation of grapes and other plants is, Why In Situ? by Hank Becker, Linda Cooke McGraw, and Kathryn Barry Stelljes, Agricultural Research Service, Agricultural Research magazine, December 1998 issue.
Fruit Cultivars Released by the State Fruit Experiment Station (MS-21) by John Avery and Marilyn Odneal, Southwest Missouri State University
Grape Cultivars for North-Central New Mexico, Guide H-309, by Frank B. Matta, Esteban Herrera, and Darrell Sullivan.
Grape hybrid varieties and accessions' parentage and their genetic percent of Vitis species. Compiled by: Dr. Michael J. Striem
Grape Varieties for Indiana (in .pdf format)
Grapevine Rootstocks for Oregon Vineyards, EM 8882 by R. Shaffer, T.L. Sampaio, J. Pinkerton, and M.C. Vasconcelos, Oregon State University Extension
'Jupiter' Seedless Table Grape -- Another Option for Arkansas Growers (in .pdf format) (pages 74-77) from Research Series 475: Horticultural Studies 1999, Michael D. Richardson and John R. Clark, editors / University of Arkansas
Matching Winegrape Cultivars to Nebraska Landscapes by W.J. Waltman, P.E. Read, J.S. Peake, J.L. Holtz, and S. Gamet of the University of Nebraska, Omaha and Lincoln. (in .pdf format)
Native North American Grapes and Wines, from the Winemaking Home Page
'Neptune' Seedless Table Grape Provides New White Grape Option. (in .pdf format) (pages 78-83) from Research Series 475: Horticultural Studies 1999, Michael D. Richardson and John R. Clark, editors / University of Arkansas
Home Fruit Production: Grape Varieties and Culture, University of Missouri Extension
Relative Susceptibility of Wine and Juice Grape Varieties to Low-temperature Injury, Disease, and Sensitivity to Sulfur Applications. Table prepared by Bruce Bordelon, Associate Professor of Horticulture, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 
Seedless Table Grapes for the Northeast by Bruce Reisch, Cornell University. Presented at the New England Vegetable and Fruit Conference (NEVFC) 2003. (in .pdf format)
Selecting Grape Cultivars and Planting Sites in Idaho by Danny L. Barney, Wm. Michael Colt, and Esmaeil Fallahi, University of Idaho. (in .pdf format)
Selecting Quality Grapes, Tammy Algood and David Lockwood, University of Tennessee (in .pdf format)
Resistant Rootstocks for New York Vineyards, by Dr. Robert Pool, Cornell University
The Super Gigantic WWW Winegrape Glossary by Anthony J. Hawkins - Provides a glossary of grape varietals involved in the production of certain wines. A "quick search" function is also available for those wanting to find a specific cultivar swiftly.
Table Grape Cultivars for Cool Climates
Winegrape Varieties and Clones, by Ed Hellman, Texas Cooperative Extension
Vitis International Variety Catalogue - As a summary, we offer here a list of some 10,000 grapevine prime names documented in the database together with information on grape colour, use and existence of bibliographic references, as well as a list of countries (and number of institutions per country) from which collections are documented.
Vitis vulpina - The true Sweet Briar grape (literally, the vixen grape) [aka 'Wild Vixen] Images
Vitis vinifera winegrape varieties

Muscadine Grapes

203: Evaluation of Muscadine Grape Cultivars for Productivity, Fruit Quality and Winter Hardiness in Arkansas, 1987-1998, by John R. Clark / University of Arkansas
America's First Grape: The Muscadine, by Doris Stanley, November 1997, Agricultural Research magazine
Muscadine Grapes Carolina State University Extension
Establishment and Production of Muscadine Grapes by John Anderson and Charlie Forrest, Mississippi State University Extension Service. (In .pdf format)
Georgia Muscadine Production Guide 
Muscadine Grape Diseases and Their Control, Fruit Disease Information Note 12 by W.O. Cline
Muscadine Grape Production Guide for North Carolina Revised by E. Barclay Poling, Charles M. Mainland and William T. Bland, North Carolina Cooperative Extension
Muscadine Grapes: A New Health Food and an Alternative Crop, by Doris Stanley, November 20, 1997, USDA Agricultural Research Service
Muscadine Grapes In The Home Garden by E. B. Poling
The Muscadine Page - good relevant info, however not limited to muscadine grapes
North Carolina Wine History: Muscadines
Commercial Muscadine and Bunch Grape Production Guide by David G. Himelrick and W. A. Dozier, Jr., Auburn University
Muscadine Grape by the California Rare Fruit Growers, Inc.
Muscadine Grape by Bob Polomski, Nancy Doubrava, Greg Reighard, John R. Clark, Clemson University Cooperative Extension Service
Southeast Regional Muscadine Grape Integrated Management Guide (in .pdf format)

Norton/Cynthiana Grapes

Norton / Cynthiana, Vitis aestivalis hawe resources and bibliography of ciatations are on their page.

Michigan State University