Cornell University Viticulture Grape Pages compiled by Dr. Robert M. Pool, New York State Agricultural Experiment Station, Cornell University
Google's Web Directory on Viticulture
Grape Production from the Northwest Berry & Grape Information Net
UCD Fruit & Nut Research and Information Center: Grapes
The Wine Anorak - "One of the most interesting and comprehensive wine resources on the web. Please take some time to look around, and drop by often for the regular updates."
The Wine Institute
Winegrape Network, hosted at Pennsylvania State University. The mission of the Wine Grape Network is to provide current and accurate viticulture and farming information to grape growers in Southeast Pennsylvania and the surrounding areas.
BHVS - Benjamin Henry Viticultural Services - Although a commercial site out of California, it provides many informative international viticultural links.
Clos Pepe Vineyards - This Santa Barbara vineyard and winery not only has in-depth webpages about their businesses, but has also compiled some very extensive metasites on all aspects of viticulture and enology
Vineyard Supplies, Nurseries, and References, compiled by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. "This list of suppliers and services is intended to be a resource tool for grape growers and winemakers; it is not necessarily a recommendation. You may want to research the company, compare prices, and talk to others about product choices prior to purchase."
Michigan State University:
Grapes - Department of Horticulture, MSU
Resources for an integrated approach to vineyard management - MSU
Other Universities:
American Sommelier Association
Brock University's Cool Climate Oenology and Viticulture Institute (CCOVI) is a partnership with the Wine Council of Ontario and the Ontario Grape Growers Marketing Board. Since its establishment in 1996, CCOVI has grown rapidly and it is now housed in Inniskillin Hall, a facility dedicated to research in Oenology and Viticulture in cool climate regions. Inniskillin Hall officially opened in June of 1999. The research facilities available include a state of the art biotechnology lab, sensory evaluation facilites, viticulture lab, pilot winery and 43,000 bottle wine cellar including the collection of the Canadian Wine Library. In addition to CCOVI's research programs a complete range of academic programs is available.
California State University, Fresno (CAST) - Department of Viticulture and Enology and the Viticulture and Enology Research Center
Charles Sturt University, Australia and the associated National Wine and Grape Industry Centre
Court of Master Sommeliers - The Court of Master Sommeliers was established to encourage improved standards of beverage knowledge and service in hotels and restaurants. Education was then, and remains today, the Court's charter.
Cornell University's Grape Pages and Wine Research and Extension Program
Wine Programs at the Culinary Institute of America at Greystone, Hyde Park, NY.
Institute for Grapevine Breeding, Geilweilerhof, Germany
Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique, INRA, the French institute for agronomy research [in English] - The institute has numerous departments/units including:
The Institute of Masters of Wine - The Institute of Masters of Wine exists to promote the highest level of educational achievement for the wine industry, culminating in the internationally recognised qualification of Master of Wine (MW). As a corporate entity it organises all aspects of the Master of Wine examination and education programme, runs tastings and other events programmes, provides membership services to the 236 MWs world-wide, and information and access to specialist advice for the wine industry in general. London.
Iowa State University Viticulture
Lincoln University, Centre for Viticulture and Oenology, Canterbury, New Zealand
Niagara College, Winery and Viticulture Technician program - Canada's wine industry is centred in the Niagara Peninsula, Ontario, with over 45 local wineries and 19,000 acres of vitis vinifera grapes. In the heart of this vibrant region lies Niagara College, offering a unique opportunity to learn the art of grape growing, wine making and wine appreciation.
Winegrape Network, hosted at Pennsylvania State University. The mission of the Wine Grape Network is to provide current and accurate viticulture and farming information to grape growers in Southeast Pennsylvania and the surrounding areas.
Society of Wine Educators, Washington, DC.
Wine Business Program at School of Business and Economics at Sonoma State University.
Viticulture Research Program - Missouri State University - Mountain Grove, Missouri
Grape Breeding at the Sweet Briar Community Garden, by Clifford Ambers, Sweet Briar College, Virginia
Texas Winegrape Network, Department of Horticultural Sciences, Texas A&M University - a comprehensive information resource for grape growers, not just located in Texas but internationally.
Texas Tech University, Wine Marketing Research Institute - The Texas Wine Marketing Research Institute was established in the Department of Education, Nutrition, and Restaurant/Hotel Management at Texas Tech University in 1988. The mission of the Institute is to foster economic development and growth of the Texas wine and wine grape industry. In achieving this mission through education, research, and service, the Institute works in cooperation with a variety of individuals and organizations including the private sector, other educational organizations, and government officials. The Institute regularly collects and disseminates information concerning Texas wine and wine grape production, wine sales and wine consumption in Texas, and the industry's economic impacts on the Texas economy. Specific research topics are also examined and include winery tourism, wine sales to restaurants, and supermarket sales of Texas wines.
Institut Jules Guyot, Universite de Bourgogne, France
Universite Victor Segalen Bordeaux 2 (in French).
School of Agriculture & Wine, the University of Adelaide, South Australia
University of Arkansas's Enology and Viticulture Research Program, which includes the emphases, the Vineyard Mechanization and Grape Processing Program, and the Enhancing the Health Benefits of Wine Program
University of British Columbia, Wine Research Centre - The WRC's mission is to conduct pioneering research in enology and viticulture and to develop highly qualified human resources with relevant scientific expertise and enterprise who will promote the technological advancement of the wine industry in Canada. This new initiative is based on a concept of collaboration with researchers at UBC, at other educational and research institutions and all facets of the wine industry.
University of California at Davis:
University of Stellenbosch, South Africa - Department of Viticulture and Oenology
Vintage School: International Institue for Internet Wine Studies. The Vintage School offers wine lovers an educational course at various levels which they can undertake at their own pace. The Free Basic Wine Course is an introduction to the fascinating world of wine, and is intended to be used by students who have had no prior contact with wine but have expressed an interest in the subject. Intermediate, Advanced, and Austrailan courses are fee-based.
Viticulture Program at Virginia Tech's The Alson H. Smith, Jr. Agricultural Research and Extension Center. Also at Virginia Tech, part of the Department of Food Science and Technology, is the The Enology and Grape Chemistry Group, which exists primarily to support the growing grape and wine industry in Virginia.
Washington State University, Wine & Grape Program
Wine Spectator School - Whether you're just starting to learn about wine or you've been collecting for years, our on-line courses take your wine education to the next level. Learn to get more out of each sip and share step-by-step tastings with friends. Homework was never this much fun!
Australian Wine Research Institute - Established in 1955, The Australian Wine Research Institute is a private company limited by guarantee. The Institute is owned by the Australian wine industry and is funded primarily by Australia's grapegrowers and winemakers through their investment body the Grape and Wine Research and Development Corporation, with matching funds from the Federal government.
Centre for Viticulture and Oenology, Lincoln University, Canterbury, New Zealand.
Comissão de Viticultura da Região dos Vinhos Verdes (CVRVV), Portugal - an interprofessional organisation with the objective of representing the interests of the professions involved in the Vinho Verde production and trade and in the defence of the regional and national inheritance of its Denomination of Origin.
The Cooperative Research Centre for Viticulture is a joint venture between Australia's viticulture industry and leading research and education organisations. It promotes cooperative scientific research to accelerate quality viticultural management from vine to palate.
Cornell Grape Breeding Program and Grape Flower Anatomy
Geisenheim Research Institute - Viticulture and Enology Research
Grape Research Branch of the OARDC
Institute for Grapevine Breeding, Geilweilerhof, Germany - The institute's research concentrates on: Development of disease-resistant grapevine varieties in consideration of the wide diversity of varieties in German viticulture; Selection methods to assess characteristics such as resistance to noxious agents, resistance to stress factors (e.g. drought, frost), and the flavour and taste-determining aroma components; Collection, maintenance, and evaluation of valuable germplasm of Vitis; Analysis of vine genomes; and Viticulture and Enology Abstracts, supplement to the journal Vitis - Journal of Grapevine Research is published by the institute, providing abstracts on grapevine science from scientific literature published throughout the world.
Midwest Viticulture and Enology Center (MVEC) - Located on the Southwest Missouri State University Campus at Mountain Grove, the Center coordinates the necessary resources to provide quality grape and wine research and advisement programs for Missouri and the surrounding region.
T.V. Munson Memorial Vineyard & Viticulture and Enology Center.
Viticulture and Enology Research Center (VERC) - Fresno State University; Viticulture and Enology Research Center (VERC) research publications - electronic and hard copy selections.
Agricultural Research Service - The ARS is the principal research agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
U.S. Congress (Thomas database)
Current Research Information System - CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, the state land-grant university system, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in USDA's National Research Initiative Competitive Grants Program.
Deep Freeze - a Really Big Chill [Cryopreservation of grapes] - (second article on page, halfway down), Judy McBride, June 1999, Agricultural Research magazine.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), United States
EPA's Surf Your Watershed - Locate your watershed to learn about the land you live upon.
FDA - Food and Drug Administration
Germplasm Resources Information Network (GRIN) - In 1990, the U.S. Congress authorized establishment of a National Genetic Resources Program (NGRP). It is the NGRP's responsibility to: acquire, characterize, preserve, document, and distribute to scientist germplasm of all lifeforms important for food and agricultural production, and provide a continuous flow of genes from source to end use, a continuum that keeps high-yielding varieties on the market; improves the quality of agricultural products; minimizes production costs; reduces dependence on pesticides, thus enhancing the quality of the environment; and minimizes the vulnerability of agriculturally important germplasm to pests and environmental stresses. The GRIN web server provides germplasm information about plants, animals, microbes and invertebrates. This program is within the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service, United States.
Federal Government Agencies Directory, United States
National Agriculture Library (NAL), United States
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) - The federal government agency that works hand-in-hand with people to conserve natural resources on private lands. "Using our scientific and technical expertise, and our partnerships with Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCD) and others, we help conserve all natural resources on private lands."
Saving Grapes - [DNA fingerprinting of grapes], Judy McBride, June 1999, Agricultural Research magazine.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
USDA's Agriculture Marketing Service (AMS) - If you are thinking of value-adding to your fruit operation and want to insure quality control and standards compliance, click over to the USDA's Agriculture Marketing Service. This USDA service employs specialists who provide standardization, grading and market news services for fruit and vegetable, and other, commodities. They enforce federal laws such as the Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act and the Federal Seed Act, as well as set the quality standards for fresh fruit and vegetables, frozen fruit, fresh fruit for processing, and canned fruit. These standards are available in Adobe Acrobat format (which is free) on the web.
USDA Foreign Agricultural Service: World Production, Trade Statistics and Market Information for Grapes, table; Grapes, juice; and Wine
U.S. Trade Representative
Allied Grape Growers, A Wine Grape Growers Association Serving California - A California winegrape marketing cooperative with over 500 grower members located from all major winegrape regions of California including the North Coast, Central Coast, Lodi and the San Joaquin Valley.
American Society for Enology & Viticulture and the associated American Journal of Enology and Viticulture
American Society for Enology and Viticulture - Eastern Section
AVERN - The American Viticulture and Enology Research Network: AVERN's mission is to enhance the health and international competitiveness of American wine and grape producers via a national research network that will develop and link the funding and human resources to put the U.S. at the leading edge of viticulture and enology applied technology and fundamental research, to benefit these industries, their customers and the U.S. economy.
California Raisin Marketing Board
Concord Grape Association
The Grape Grower's Notebook - This site is dedicated to collection of vineyard management tips and suggestions to assist grape growers and future grape growers. Your contributions are welcome.
GrapeTalk - "GrapeTalk is designed for the worldwide exchange of information by professional grape growers and vineyard managers." The site is divided into 3 sections: the free area (industry news, research, etc.), members only (nominal membership fee required), and discussion groups. Each provides a unique forum addressing viticultural information in a different manner.
Low Input Viticulture & Enology, Inc. program (LIVE, Inc.). LIVE is a program providing vineyards and wineries official recognition for sustainable agricultural practices that are modeled after international standards.
National Grape Cooperative Association, A Case Study conducted by the Ag Marketing Resource Center. October 2003.(in .pdf format)
South Australian Wine and Brandy Industry Association
The Trellis Alliance - established in 1993 as the wine industry support group for the Department of Viticulture and Enology, University of California, Davis.
Vineyard Investors Forum
Vineyard & Winery Management - Trade Associations
Washington Association of Wine Grape Growers