Skip to main content
Michigan State University

AgNIC Strawberries: Publications

MSU maintains the Strawberry information site within the AgNIC alliance. The site contains links to information and provides the opportunity to ask reference questions.

Page Contents

Journals & Newsletters
Proceedings & Online Books

Journals & Newsletters

American Fruit Grower now Growing Produce

The Berry Basket Newsletter. The Berry Basket is produced cooperatively by the University of Missouri Extension, Greene County and the State Fruit Experiment Station of Missouri State University.

Facts for Fancy Fruit - Purdue's quarterly newsletter about fruits.

Florida Grower - now Growing Produce

Fruit Grower News - Online

Fruit Growers Newsletter - This newsletter is created bi-monthly by Colorado State University Cooperative Extension Personnel including, Harold Larsen, Extension Fruit Pathology Specialist and Gene Nelson, Mesa County/Tri River Area Entomolgy Extension Agent.

Fruit Notes from University of Massachusettes

Good Fruit Grower

HortIdeas - reports on the latest research, methods, tools, plants, books, etc., for vegetable, fruit, and flower gardeners. We gather the information from hundreds of popular and technical sources, worldwide, and rewrite it so that you can understand it and use it. The gardening news YOU can use!

HortScience

HortTechnology

Illinois Fruit and Vegetable News

Journal of the American Pomological Society [formerly Fruit Varieties Journal]

Journal of The American Society for Horticultural Science

Massachusetts Berry Notes is a newsletter containing timely information on integrated crop managment for small-fruit crops in Massachusetts. It is published weekly during the growing season, and as needed after that. by .

Northland Berry News

Northwest Berry and Grape Infonet

The Packer - weekly newspaper of produce industry

Pomona - the quarterly journal of the North American Fruit Explorers (NAFEX). Issued in January, April, July, and October, Pomona contains practical, instructive articles written by NAFEX's membership on the many facets of fruit growing. Available online to members only

Scaffolds Fruit Journal - the weekly update on pest management and crop development. Scaffolds is published by Cornell University - NYS Agricultural Experiment Station (Geneva) and Ithaca with the assistance of Cornell Cooperative Extension.

Western Fruit Grower now Growing Produce

Proceedings & Online Books

The A B C of strawberry culture, for farmers, village people, and small growers: A book for beginners by T. B. Terry. Medina, Ohio: A. I. Root Co. 1902. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.

Farmer on the strawberry: The new strawberry culture and fall bearing strawberries by Lawrence Jones Farmer. Pulaski, N. Y.: The Democrat Press. 1912. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.

The illustrated strawberry culturist: Containing the history, sexuality, field and garden culture of strawberries, forcing or pot culture, how to grow from seed, hybridizing, and all other information necessary to enable everybody to raise their own strawberries: Together with a description of new varieties and a list of the best of the old sorts by Andrew Samuel Fuller. New York: Orange Judd Co. 1887. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.

Modern strawberry growing by Albert Edmund Wilkinson. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, Page & Company. 1913. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.

New and enlarged manual on practical strawberry and berry fruit culture: Also of grapes, asparagus, rhubarb, etc. by Oscar Williams Blacknall. Kittrell, N.C. [s.n.]. 1900. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.

Darrow's 1965 work, The Strawberry: History, Breeding and Physiology, is available in full text, and addresses the strawberry throughout history in art, cultivation, and breeding programs worldwide. The text is supplemented with a multitude of tables and graphs.

The Strawberry in North America: history, origin, botany, and breeding By Stevenson Whitcomb Fletcher, c1917

Michigan State University