Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Open Access E-books and Digital Journal Collections for Latin American Studies: Digital Libraries

This is a guide to selected open access electronic text collections and major portals.

Culture and History Focus

Biblioteca Ayacucho Digital

An e-book collection that includes many classics of Latin American literature and thought.

Biblioteca Digital Andina

The Digital Library of the Caribbean

Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Includes historical and contemporary newspapers, literary journals, official documents, ecological and economic data, maps, travel accounts and more.

Memoria Centroamericana

Cultural and historic patrimony of the region, including books and documents and valuable collections such as 19th century newspapers held in the Instituto de Historia de Nicaragua y Centroamérica.


A portal to the digital collections of archives, libraries and museums that participate in the Open Archives Initiative promoted by the European Union. Access more than 3 million digital objects held in 172 depositories. Definitely includes content of Latin American studies interest.

PARES, Portal de los Archivos Españoles (Partial full-text)

An unparalleled digital resource for the study of colonial Spanish America. Provides access to the holdings of various Spanish archives. Millions of page images are freely downloadable; copies of other items identified but not digitized can be requested through the site. Includes holdings from a number of provincial archives, the archives of the Spanish Civil War, and the famous Archivo de Indias.

Social Science and Development Focus

CLACSO,Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (Latin American Council of Social Sciences) 

An international non-governmental institution created in 1967 with formal consulting ties to UNESCO, today CLACSO encompasses 302 research centers and and degree-granting programs (including post-graduate) in social sciences in 25 countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, the United States and Europe.

CLACSO Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales (Network of Virtual Libraries) 

Links to CLACSO’s 12,000-plus volume library of digitized books, conference papers, theses, and working papers published in Latin America and the Caribbean. Search the "Sala de Lectura" or go to the "Portal de Revistas de la Red CLACSO" for journals.

FLACSO (Latin American Faculty of Social Sciences)

FLACSO is one of Latin America’s foremost academic networks with  10 national centers throughout the region. Created by a UNESCO initiative in 1957, FLACSO is dedicated to promoting and supporting social sciences study and research.

FLACSO Andes e-biblioteca  "... 1304 libros y 5681 artículos que se pueden descargar en texto completo digital de manera gratuita."

Enlace Academico Centroamericano Presents digital books and journals from the FLACSO centers in Central America: Costa Rica, El Salvador and Guatemala.

Inter-American Development Bank Publications

Searchable by keyword, limited by language, document type, country or topic. 


Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (BDPI)

Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (BDPI) is a portal that integrates bibliographic descriptions of digital objects from the  collections of participating libraries. Contributing countries.

Social Sciences Grey Literature

Latin American Open Archive Portal

Content is provided by many partners including the Instituto de Estudios Peruanos and CIRMA Guatemala (Centro de Investigaciones Regionales de Mesoamérica)

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University