Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Open Access E-books and Digital Journal Collections for Latin American Studies: Journal Collections

This is a guide to selected open access electronic text collections and major portals.

Open Access E-Journal Collections

Latindex E-journals (Partial full-text)

Latindex is a network of regional cooperation begun at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in order to provide information about scientific and technical journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Directory information is available for nearly 20,000 journals and full-text access is available for nearly 4,000 electronic titles. The full-text content is fully searchable, or titles are browsable via subject, region or country lists. Nearly 500 of the full-text titles are categorized as in the social sciences and humanities, and more than 1800 are social science titles.

RedALyC

RedALyC provides access to academic research produced in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Searches can be limited to major areas: Social Sciences & Humanities and Natural Sciences. Includes English language abstracts.

Central American Journals Online

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)

Free and universal access to the full-text of nearly 1000 journals, most scientific but some in social sciences and humanities as well. The following countries have journal collections in SciELO: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Venezuela, Spain and Portugal. Collections from Bolivia, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and the West Indies are in development. Allows searches at the article and journal level, by subject or country, with viewing and downloading of abstracts, full-text, and citation information.

SciELO Social Sciences English Edition

Provides hundreds of articles translated into English from over 30 Latin American social sciences journals in order to increase Latin America Social Sciences visibility and accessibility. Currently the site includes more than 30 journals from Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay.

 Portal de Revistas de la Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú

Publicaciones Periódicas del Uruguay

Michigan State University