Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Open Access E-books and Digital Journal Collections for Latin American Studies: Brasiliana

This is a guide to selected open access electronic text collections and major portals.

Resources for the Study of Brazilian History and Culture

Arquivo Público do Estado de São Paulo (Digitized collections)

Hemeroteca (Newspapers & Magazines); Memória Política e Resistência (Somente 10% do acervo está digitalizado até o momento--April 2013.)

Biblioteca Nacional Digital Brasil

Manuscripts, rare books, photos, maps and more.

Brasiliana Eletrônica

Documentos Revelados

 Primary sources and other materials from the 1964-1985 era of dictatorship.

Ecclesiastical Sources in Slave Societies Project (Vanderbilt University)

Presents materials from church and parish archives in Brazil, Colombia, Cuba and Spanish Florida.

LivrosBrasileiros (Social Sciences)

A searchable digital library offering free access more than 200 out-of-print Brazilian social sciences books. (Edelstein Center for Social Research)

Museu Imperial de Petrópolis (Projeto DAMI is the digitization projects page)

Memorias da Ditadura

A large collection of sources, pictures, and documentaries about the military dictatorship period.

Opening the Archives: Documenting U.S.-Brazil Relations from the 1960s-1980s

A joint effort by Brown University and the Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Paraná, Brazil to digitize and index 10,000 U.S. State Department documents on Brazil.

Virtual Library of Plataforma Democrática

"A specialized collection of works about democracy in Latin America ... with free access to the library’s twenty thousand titles." Works deal with Brazil and other countries in the region, in Portuguese, Spanish, English and other languages. (Edelstein Center for Social Research)

Rede da Memória Virtual Brasileira

Includes a selection of digitized Brazilian literature.

SciELO Books Portal (Brazil only, to date)

Peer-reviewed open access and commercial ebooks in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Public Health. Includes publications of some top tier Brazilian academic presses. Available in ePub and PDF formats with the option to download the whole ebook or just individual PDF chapters.

The United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures

"Explores the history of Brazil, interactions between Brazil and the United States from the eighteenth century to the present, and the parallels and contrasts between Brazilian and American culture and history." Click on "Collections" for the nine available primary source collections, including the Lady Maria Calcott Collections of 39 watercolor depictions of life in early 19th century Brazil.

Newspapers

Acervo Estadão

Digital archive of O Estado de São Paulo, a major daily newspaper, since 1875. Registered non-subscribers may view up to 20 pages in a period of 30 calendar days. For helpful details see review.

Diario de Pernambuco (1825-1922, and 1924)

O Jornal do Brasil

Published in Rio de Janeiro since 1891. Includes two issues from 1891, one from 1910, and thousands from the 1930s through the 1990s.

SciELO Journals

SciELO Brazil

SciELO Social Sciences English Edition

Hundreds of articles translated into English; includes Brazilian journals.

Government Documents

Brazilian Government Documents
Serial documents issued by Brazil's national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire in 1889.

The Codigo Brasiliense at the John Carter Brown Library
Provides access to the earliest official documents of Brazil, starting in 1808.

Opening the Archives: Documenting U.S.-Brazil Relations from the 1960s-1980s
A joint effort by Brown University and the Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Paraná, Brazil to digitize and index 10,000 U.S. State Department documents on Brazil..

 

 

Theses and Dissertations

For more information, see this article, The Brazilian Electronic Theses and Dissertations Digital Library: Providing Open Access for Scholarly Information

Biblioteca Digital da UNICAMP

"O acesso à Biblioteca Digital é público e gratuito." UNICAMP also participates in BDTD, above.

Michigan State University