Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Relations: Conflict Web Sites

Covers international law, institutions, theory of international relations, foreign policy, international political economy, environment, human rights, food security, national security.

Selected Resources

ACLED Publications. ACLED publishes regular analyses and reports on key countries, dynamics and patterns of political violence and protest in Africa in contemporary and historical perspective. Publications are intended to inform academic, policy and practitioner work in key countries, regions and sectors in conflict analysis, peace-building and armed violence reduction.

  • Conflict Trends Reports are monthly updates on political violence, protest, and conflict events in African states. They are based on real-time data, and compare current trends and patterns to historical dynamics in key focus countries.
  • ACLED Regional and Country Reports provide detailed conflict profiles for selected African regions and countries in the dataset. Historical patterns of violence, regional dynamics and key actors are explored.
  • ACLED Working Papers explore different methodological and thematic issues highlighted by the data collection project. Working papers published to date include analyses of the role of distinct actors, actor types and sources in coding.
  • The following are selected academic articles and book chapters which make use of disaggregated conflict data. They include articles by ACLED researchers and studies on a wide variety of themes in conflict, peace and development studies.

Center for Security Studies at ETHZurich.    Hint : Type in Africa  in the search box at the top for further studies.  Or click on blog link and click on Africa in the word cloud.

Conflict Barometer available here courtesy of the Heidelberg Institute for International Conflict Research (HIIK)

Global Conflict Tracker by Council on Foreign Relations. Click on dots for country reports including death estimates.

Global Terrorism Database (GTD). An open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 150,000 cases

Human Security Reports and BriefsThe Human Security Report (and associated Human Security Brief series) is inspired by the UN’s Human Development Report. The Reports and Briefs provide information and analyses on global and regional trends in armed conflict and other forms of organized violence. They draw on the most recent scholarly research, focus on people rather than states, and are intended to be accessible to non-specialists.

International Crisis Group - The International Crisis Group is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict.  Note: Africa tab.

The miniAtlas of Human Security.   An at-a-glance illustrated guide to global and regional trends in human insecurity, the miniAtlas provides a succinct introduction to today’s most pressing security challenges. It maps political violence, the links between poverty and conflict, assaults on human rights—including the use of child soldiers—and the causes of war and peace.

No Peace Without Justice.  Campaigning for the Protection and Promotion of Human Rights, Democracy, the Rule of Law and International Justice.

Political Violence at a Glance (BLOG).  Want to know why violence broke out in Syria but not Bahrain? Why the world has responded the way it has? Whether the United States should intervene or stay out? Political Violence @ a Glance answers questions on the most pressing problems related to violence and protest in the world’s conflict zones.  Hint: Type Africa in the search engine.

Rwandan Political Violence in Time and Space. Courtesy of GenoDynamics.

The UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia (UCDP database) is an online, free of charge, database. It is updated and revised several times per year and contains detailed descriptive information on armed conflicts, peace agreements, and several other aspects of organised violence. Coverage is global with information from 1946 and onwards.  Use arrow keys to reposition map of world.  If you click on countries where conflicts have occurred, you can review some of the data.  The Uppsala conflict data has been published, with respect to major armed conflicts, in the SIPRI Yearbook since 1988. As of 1993, a list of all armed conflicts appears in Journal of Peace Research (JPR). The time series are slightly different. In the SIPRI Yearbook it now runs from 1990. In JPR, after a joint effort with the International Institute of Peace Research, Oslo (PRIO) on backdating information, there is now data since 1946. Information on non-state conflicts has appeared in the Human Security Report since 2004. Hosted by Uppsala University in Switzerland.

Michigan State University