Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Relations: Foreign Policy

Covers international law, institutions, theory of international relations, foreign policy, international political economy, environment, human rights, food security, national security.

Finding Journal Articles and Papers

Political Science Complete. Provides full text for over 500 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 1995 journals. The database also features more than 189 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). Indexes and selectively publishes post-1990 scholarship and reports on international affairs. Provides full-text access to relevant Columbia University Press titles and many recent journals, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. CIAO also has links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign government sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services.

Background Sources

American Foreign Relations since 1600: A Guide to the Literature   Reference E183.7 .A52 2003 : Two-volume set published by the Society of Historians for American Foreign Relations. Provides excellent annotated bibliographies for major events in American foreign relations.

 

Bilateral Relations Fact SheetsU.S. Department of State.  Covers all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Each report contains info on bilateral relations with the U.S., travel, and business. There are also additional useful links, including a link to the CIA World Factbook entry for each country. These reports are updated periodically.  Formerly called Background Notes.

 

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy - 2002 collection of scholarly essays on U.S. foreign policy history, theory, and practice  (Also available Online)

 

Foreign Relations of the United States - guide to our collection of this set of primary documents

 

Frontline Diplomacy - oral histories of diplomats from the Library of Congress

Other Useful Sites

Center for Security Studies - open source digital library of reports, studies, etc. from think tanks, research institutes and NGOs from around the globe

Council on Foreign Relations - An independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher.

Foreign Affairs Online- Specifically designed to assist students and other individuals interested in International Relations, International Law, and U.S. Foreign Policy.

Foreign Policy - Covers subjects such as national security, trade, technology, markets, energy, and politics. Includes digitized issues of print magazine back to 1970.  Note:  Access to this database is very problematic off campus.  Either call (800) 500-1554* or send an email to reachout@msu.edu and ask for assistance.

United Nations Global Issues.

WWW Virtual Library : International Affairs Resources

Michigan State University