Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Relations: Environment

Covers international law, institutions, theory of international relations, foreign policy, international political economy, environment, human rights, food security, national security.

Other Online Research Guides

American Society of International Law - electronic resource guide to International Environmental Law.

MSU Libraries Environmental Studies Resources Research Guide - a gateway to numerous guides around environmental issues created by librarians at MSU

Background Sources

International Environmental Agreements: An Introduction -  Main Library Stacks JZ1324 .I56 2012

International Environmental Law and Policy: A Comprehensive Reference Source (online) - courtesy of American University Washington School of Law

International Environmental Law in a Nutshell   Schaeffer Law Library K3585.6 .G87 2012

Other Useful Websites

Access Initiative (TAI) is a global network that promotes access to information, participation, and justice in environmental decision-making.

Center for International Environment and Resource Policy - from the Fletcher School at Tufts.

Envirofacts - Access to EPA environmental data including data available for downloading in a variety of formats.

International Relations and Security Network - open source digital library of reports, studies, etc. from think tanks, research institutes and NGOs from around the globe.

National Council for Science and the Environment - Over 2,000 reports on environmental and related topics.

OECD Environmental Data Compendium - Data linking pollution and natural resources with activities in economic sectors and data showing the state of air, inland waters, wildlife, etc., for OECD countries.

UN Statistics Division Environmental Indicators - UNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources.

Subject Guide

Finding Journal Articles and Papers

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). Indexes and selectively publishes post-1990 scholarship and reports on international affairs. Provides full-text access to relevant Columbia University Press titles and many recent journals, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. CIAO also has links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign government sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services.

Environment Complete  According to EBSCO, Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.

Political Science Complete  contains full text for over 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 2,900 journals (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Michigan State University