Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Grants and Related Resources: Grants for Nonprofits

A compilation of resources for grant and financial aid seekers.

Databases Available to the MSU Community or Visitors

Foundation Directory Online Professional : The cadillac of all funding databases.  Created and maintained by the Foundation Center, the Foundation Directory Online (FDO) provides access to detailed profiles on over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities, updated weekly. In addition, searchable databases with over 1.6 million recently awarded grants and recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF are available.  Note : only available in the Main Library or via subscription.

GrantSelect : An extensive online grants database owned and operated by Schoolhouse Partners, and it contains more than 16,000 funding opportunities provided by more than 5,100 unique sponsoring organizations. Although this database includes a lot of financial aid sources, it also covers nonprofit funding sources as well.  Also provides a selection of funding news. Note: available to the MSU community, other subscribers, and visitors to the MSU Main Library.

Additional Databases Worth Noting

Michigan State University Libraries - Grants for Nonprofits : This compilation focuses primarily on grants or funding sources for nonprofit organizations. A few categories (marked with an asterisk) are also of interest to individuals.

Grants.gov : Posts federal grant information on a daily basis.  Don't want to register?  Click on "find grant opportunities" and explore.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) : Provides access to a searchable database of all federal programs available to state and local governments; federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories of the U.S.; domestic, public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions. Offers a variety of search methods, including keyword, assistance type, cfda number, and agency.

Where can I find information about government grants? Advice from the Foundation Center's GrantSpace Portal.

Philanthropy In/Sight : An interactive mapping tool that combines the Foundation Center's data on grantmakers and their grants with familiar Google maps to tell the story of philanthropy. Choosing from a wide range of customization options, you can quickly create maps that reveal patterns of giving and funding relationships. See examples that show the impact of funding for arts, the environment, and more.

GuideStar Premium : Provides information on the activities and finances of more than 650,000 charities and nonprofit organizations. Features a database searchable by name, keyword, mission, geographic location and revenue range.

Fiscal Sponsorship Information : Most private foundations only give money to officially recognized nonprofits.  If you do not have this status, you may want to investigate a formal arrangement in which a 501(c)(3) public charity sponsors a project that may lack exempt status.

Need more help?

The Foundation Center's Online Librarian Service can answer questions about foundations, philanthropy, fund-raising and nonprofits organizations.

Ask Us - Foundation Center

Subject Guide

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University