Skip to main content
Michigan State University

FOR 802 Forest Science Research: Notable Library Resources

Dr. Richard Kobe, Fall 2017

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences (online)
Packed with valuable insights from experts all over the world, this remarkable online encyclopedia not only summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, but also thoroughly covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry. It also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), forest entomology, paper and pulp, wood properties, medicinal and aromatic forest plants, scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management.

Praciak, Andrew. 2013. The CABI encyclopedia of forest trees. Wallingford, Oxfordshire, Uk: Cabi.
QK474.87 .C33 2013 [print resource]

Forest Products Laboratory (U.S.). 2007. The encyclopedia of wood. New York: Skyhorse Pub.
TA419 .W78 2007  [print resource]

Helms, John A. 1998. The dictionary of forestry. Bethesda, MD: Society of American Foresters.
SD126 .D535 1998 [print resource]

Draper, Danny B., and Peter A. Richards. 2009. Dictionary for managing trees in urban environments. Collingwood, Vic: CSIRO Publishing. [online resource]

IUFRO Congress, Michèle Kaennel, and Renate Prüller. 2002. Forest terminology: living expert knowledge: How to get society to understand forest terminology: Proceedings of the 6.03.02/SilvaVoc Group Session at the XXI IUFRO World Congress, August 2000, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and selected contributions on forest terminology. Vienna: IUFRO.

Notable Resources

These are works that can be checked out from the library or are fully available online.

Coombes, Allen J., and Zsolt Debreczy. 2010. The book of leaves: a leaf-by-leaf guide to six hundred of the world's great trees. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press.
QK477.2.I4 C66 2010  

Smith, James E. 2006. Methods for calculating forest ecosystem and harvested carbon with standard estimates for forest types of the United States. [Washington, D.C.]: United States Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service, Northeastern Research Station. [pdf is 222 pages]

Burns, Russell M. 1983. Silvicultural systems for the major forest types of the United States. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service.

Forest genetics in the Lake states; an annotated bibliography [by] William J. Libby, Burton V. Barnes [and] Stephen H. Spurr.
A good resource for older information, as in a Literature Review or for citation tracking.
MSU MAIN LIBRARY: Z5991 .L3

Guide to management of roadside trees [microform]. Implementation package ; FHWA-IP-86-17. 69 pages.
McLean, Va. : Federal Highway Administration ; [Springfield, Va. : National Technical Information Service, 1986]
MSU GOV DOCS US FICHE, 3 W      TD 2.36:86-17
Link to the document in pdf format: http://www.naturewithin.info/Roadside/Zeigler_FHWA.pdf

Michigan manual of forestry / Filibert Roth
Volumes I. Forest regulation, or, The preparation and development of forest working plans
Volume II. Forest valuation. Ann Arbor, Mich., 1914-16
Full text from the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) Project.

Plants for Michigan roadsides / [Michigan Department of State Highways, Design Division - Roadside Development].
This is a marvelous and rare work of many species of trees and shrubs used for roadside plantings. very descriptive tables address characteristics for each species.  Book is oversized and in closed reference.  Excellent for Landscape Architecture and land use planning and rehabilitation.
MSU Closed Reference    TE178 .M5

The swelling and shrinking of wood : a practical technology primer / Otto Suchsland.
In the MSU Faculty Book Collection, First Floor West (2 copies, do circulate)
MSU FACULTY BOOK COLL, 1 WEST: TA420 .S83 2004

Wood handbook : Wood as an engineering material
Electronic format and available in Government Documents.
MSU GOV DOCS US FICHE, 3 W: A 13.88:FPL-GTR-113

The world list of threatened trees
General collection; can be checked out.
MSU MAIN LIBRARY: QK86.A1 O54 1998

Michigan State University