Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Iberia 1400-1700: English Language Resources: Free Web Sites

Contains reference sources about the history of Spain and Portugal and their empires from 1400-1700.

Free Web Sites

It is important to evaluate the web sites you use. To do this, ask yourself:

Who is the site’s author?  Is it/are they (a) reputable person(s) in the scholarly world?

Who is the site’s publisher?  Prefer sites whose web addresses end in ".edu" or ".org" rather than ".com."

What is the point of view or bias of the site? Information is rarely neutral.

Does the material included refer to or indicate knowledge of the subject matter?

Are the details accurate or verifiable?

Is the information current or timely?  When was the site last updated?

Iberian Studies Web

A section of WESSWEB, the ALA/ACRL/Western European Studies Section's guide to library resources on Western European countries.  Contains links to gateway/portal web sites on Spain and Portugal useful to college students and scholars.  Also has sections on history, politics, literature, etc.

LIBRO: the Library of Iberian Resources Online

The Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO) is a joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas. Its task is to make available to users the best scholarship about the peoples and nations of the Iberian peninsula. Consequently, the book list is principally drawn from recent, but out-of-print university press monographs. In addition, the collection includes a number of basic texts and sources in translation. These are presented in full-text format and reproduce all the matter included in the original print version. The collection focuses upon peninsular history from the fifth to the seventeenth centuries. 

Has author, title, and subject search options.  Scanning the author and title lists, which have links to the texts, is do able and recommended.  This site may be a way to find scholarly books MSU Libraries doesn't own.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook

Collection of primary sources of historic documents from the early modern period to the present for both Europe and the Americas. Includes links to other sources of information on modern history and on the nature of historiography, and links to maps, images, and music. Has sections, along the left on the entry page, for Early Modern World and Colonial Latin America.  No sections on Spain or Portugal.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe see link at bottom of this page.

PARES: Portal de los Archivos Españoles

Provides access to the holdings of various Spanish archives. Millions of page images are freely downloadable; copies of other items identified but not digitized can be requested through the site. Includes holdings from a number of provincial archives, the archives of the Spanish Civil War, and the famous Archivo de Indias.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a partnership of major North American research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.  Members include the CIC university libraries, University of California system, Triangle Research Libraries (North Carolina) and others.  The Library contains full and partial view digital works scanned by the Google project at these libraries.  Full view is allowed for works no longer under copyright protection.  Some member libraries, including MSU, have loaded the cataloging records,  with their online links, for individual books into their online catalogs.  But there is also a web site for the project as a whole.  Here one can search for bibliographic records on topics and by author and title. One can also “text mine”, that is, search within the texts across the database for particular words. HathiTrust is described here in this research guide because it is a free internet resource to MSU persons.

Center for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. The Michigan State University Library is a paraticipating member institution.  We borrow materials MSU researchers want through interlibrary loan

Open Access E-Books and Digital Journal Collections for Latin American Studies

Online research guide by Mary Jo Zeter, MSU Libraries’ Latin American and Caribbean Studies bibliographer, with links to e-text collections and portal/gateway web sites. 

Primary Source Research in Latin American History

Online research guide from Emory University’s Latin American Studies Librarian, Phil MacLeod.  Offers links to selected internet resources.

Latin American Travelogues

Web Site from Brown University.  The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries.

USTC, Universal Short Title Catalogue

USTC is a freely accessible database of bibliographical entries, with library holdings information, for books printed in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century. Its purpose is akin to the ESTC, English Short Title Catalogue, also in our electronic resources. USTC began as a professor's project at University of St. Andrews to "survey French religious books, intended as a contribution to the study of the Reformation. But it proved impossible to make sense of French Protestantism without also creating a bibliography of Catholic books; then it seemed important to survey all French vernacular imprints, to establish how religious books fitted into the economy of print. It was only when this first project was nearing completion in 2007 that we conceived the more ambitious goal of extending our work on France to all of Europe." Then the project surveyed holdings in over 300 French libraries, particularly municipal libraries, which have many early printed books seized during the French Revolution. The project then "turned its attention to other areas of Europe for which there were no comprehensive surveys of early print: notably the Iberian Peninsula (Spain and Portugal) and the Low Countries." They are now working to include entries from German and Italian libraries There are links to some freely accessible, full texts.

 

 

Michigan State University