LibGuides: Fisheries and Wildlife Resources: FW Research Databases

Research Strategies

One strategy for conducting research in the natural sciences is to start your search using large, general scientific databases. These results will provide a broad overview of the research topic. You can then decide to expand your search to subject specific databases if necessary.

FW and Ecology Databases

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database for research on aquatic organisms and environments, including marine, brackish, and fresh water.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.

Scientific Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
General science database including citation analysis information.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
All peer-reviewed journal literature. Interdisciplinary database for finding articles in the sciences as well as social sciences.

Gray Literature

Federal and State Government Agency Reports

International Agencies

Non-Governmental Organizations

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Fisheries and Wildlife Resources

Research Strategies

FW and Ecology Databases

Scientific Databases

Gray Literature