Ask yourself: Who might collect or publish this type of information?
Then visit the organization’s website and see if you're right! Or, search for them as an author in the library catalog.
These are some of the main types of producers of statistical information:
Finding Aids are research guides, reference sources, and databases.
Not sure who might have produced the statistic you need? Look in one of these sources:
Important! For the most part, these and other similiar resources will provide or direct you to statistical tables and publications. By looking at the source notes of a statistical table or noting the publisher of a report you can identify producers of data.
Consider the range of resources available to you and make an intelligent choice on where to search.
Think about where to search and which keywords to use. A targeted search can often yield fruitful results.
Use the MSU Library Catalog to find books with statistical tables.
Statistical publications will always include the keyword "statistics" in the subject information about the book. For example:
Education -- Statistics.
Health insurance -- Michigan -- Statistics.
Michigan -- Statistics.
Knowing this, you can use a technique for limiting your search to statistical publications by doing a subject search for your topic.
Look for statistics reported in journal, news, and magazine articles. If they report a source, be sure to follow it up!
By searching periodical indexes, you can determine if anyone has conducted research into your area of inquiry. You may turn up a journal article with statistical tables on your topic, or you may find out that you have chosen such a unique topic that little to no research exists in that area. Maybe you can be flexible with your topic and find a similiar substitute.
The library has many different indexes that you can use to search for articles. Here are just a few recommendations:
Bibliography of Data Related Literature
From the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
ABI/INFORM provides current news and scholarly journal articles in all aspects of business. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times. Also includes market, industry, and country research.
Business Source Complete
Contains content from scholarly business journals, including the full text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides journal articles and abstracts in the areas of communications, mass media, and related fields.
Provides newspaper articles and company information worldwide.
Research reports include surveys and case studies of the world's most influential companies.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is a central resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
For more information on finding business articles, see our research guide here: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/businessarticles.