Skip to main content
Michigan State University

MSE 466 Design and Failure Analysis: Indexes & Databases

Indexes & Databases

Indexes provide users with a way to find out which journals, conferences, and reports have information on a particular topic.  Below are some of the indexes and databases which should help you locate useful articles.  Below is a link to a comprehensive list of engineering resources including indexes available through the MSU Libraries.

Online Engineering Resoures.

Compendex

Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers with 14 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. Available on Engineering Village, users get results that are consistently accurate. Relevant. Up-to-date. And easy to find. Compendex indexes 1,031 journals that contain articles-in-press. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering.

Materials ConneXion Virtual Materials Library

Material ConneXion maintains the world’s largest subscription-based materials library with thousands of innovative materials and processes across all disciplines of design — an indispensable asset to a wide audience of users.

 

Materials Reserach Database

Bibliographic coverage of serial and non-serial literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.  Includes the Materials Business Data File.

SAE Digital Library

The SAE Digital Library is a searchable database providing online access to the full text of the Society of Automotive Engineers Technical Papers from 1990 to the present , and also includes the SAE Ground Vehicle Standards.

Subject Guide

Tom Volkening's picture
Tom Volkening
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-432-1498
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University