Skip to main content
Michigan State University

British Isles Free Web Sites: Libraries' sites

Selective guide to free web sites about the British Isles organized by broad topics: general and history; images and museums; libraries; literature/language; news; politics, government, and contemporary society.

Libraries' sites

Archives Portal Europe

One of the largest portals for entry to archival collections in Europe.  Search by topic across institutions or by country. 

Digital.Bodleian

Over 115,000 high-resolution images of books, manuscripts, and maps in one interface.  Search the site by keyword or browse through collections.  Filter results by types (such as books, maps, ephemera), broad topics (such as history and politics or science and natural history)

Dr. Williams's Library, the Pre-eminent Research Library of English Protestant Nonconformity

The Library was established by the will of Dr. Daniel Williams, the leading London nonconformist minister of his day, who died in Jan., 1715/16, leaving 7600 books that he wished to be available to his fellow nonconformist ministers in London.  The collections have been built up greatly since then.  It is located at 14 Gordon Square, London today.  Some of the printed collection is in its online catalog, accessible via the web site.  The Library also has manuscript material.

Folger Shakespeare Library

The Folger Shakespeare Library, located on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. is home to the world's largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art. It is a world-renowned research center on Shakespeare and on the early modern age in the West.

National Library of Scotland

National Library of Wales

Oxford Digital Library

This is a link to the digital resources provided by Oxford Libraries, some of which are freely available and others are only available to University of Oxford students and faculty.

British Library: Sounds

Recordings and associated documentation from B.L.'s collection of sounds.  Accents and Dialects; Arts, Literature and Performance; Classical Music; Environment and Nature; Jazz and popular Music; Oral History; Sound Recording History; World and Traditional Music; sound maps.  Not all content is available to U.S. listeners.  Has some Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust interviews. 

Share ILL: Gateways and Union Catalogs--United Kingdom

Share ILL: Gateways and Union Catalogs--Ireland

Share ILL: Gateways and Union Catalogs--Scotland

Share ILL: Gateways and Union Catalogs--Wales

Can be used by the public as well as by interlibrary loan librarians.  Has quick links to libraries' online catalog websites.

 

Michigan State University