Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Hinduism: Bibliographies

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are works providing references to further reading on the topic.  Sometimes they are annotated, describing and/or evaluating the works they refer to, sometimes not.  Use them to obtain more suggestions of works to look up in the online catalog on your topic.  If M.S.U. does not own a work you want to read, perhaps it can be obtained via Interlibrary Services.  This list is arranged roughly by date of publication, with the most recently published works first followed by successively older works. 

Oxford Bibliographies Online. Hinduism

Digital collection of bibliographies on topics in the humanities and social sciences meant to be a guide to core literature. Entries include an introduction to the topic (much like a short encyclopedic entry), and citations to general overviews and other types of material related to the topic, such Handbooks & Guides, Reference Works, Textbooks, Image Collections, or Journals. Citations are annotated and may be linked to full text available to the library user. 

It is also possible to enter the OBO resource overall, here, click on advanced search top right, enter your search terms as full text,  in combination with each other, and choose Hinduism as the subject category at the bottom of the page.

Geography of Hinduism 

Hinduism: A Select Bibliography Main BL 1202 .Z8 A45 1984

Bhagavad-Gita, an International Bibliography of 1785-1979 Imprints Main BL 1138.6 .Z5 1983

Guide to Hindu Religion Z 7835 .B8 D44

Popular Hinduism and Hindu Mythology: an Annotated Bibliography Main Z 7835 .B8 H64

Michigan State University