Skip to main content
Michigan State University

MC 380: Social Policy

Dr. Susan Stein-Roggenbuck | Fall 2017

Databases

Primary Sources: News, Legislation, Data, and Government Documents

Politics in America Online (aka Congressional Quarterly)
The definitive source for information on members of the U.S. Congress and their districts. Designed for use by political professionals, government officials, students, scholars, and interested citizens, it contains in-depth profiles of ever member as well as data on their constituencies, apportionment, and redistricting.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Covers 1790 to present.

ProQuest Congressional Publications
Offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress from 1789 to the present. Includes the Daily Congressional Record and the Congressional Research Service.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. For more information about using Statistical Insight, please see the Proquest Statistical research guide.

LexisNexis Academic
The LEXIS service contains major archives of federal and state case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, state and federal regulations and public records from major U.S. states. The NEXIS service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
This database contains historical articles from Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, and the Pittsburgh Courier.

Library Catalog Tips (Find Books!)

Use these library catalog tips to find the best books for your project.

Direct link to "Library Catalog Tips" on MSU Mediaspace

SearchPlus

You can use SearchPlus to find scholarly articles, books and book chapters from the majority of the library's databases.  SearchPlus will return A LOT of search results so you should use the filters on the left side of the page to help narrow down your search.  You can narrow by:

  • Content Type - useful for selecting the type of material you want, e.g. journal articles, newspaper articles, book chapters, book reviews, etc
  • Publication Date - useful for narrowing down a time period (could use to find primary sources)
  • Subject Terms - broad categories like history, United States, electronic books, etc
  • Discipline - related to majors, e.g. American history, social sciences, education, etc
Michigan State University