Skip to main content
Michigan State University


A guide to music for solo clarinet, clarinet with piano, clarinet with various ensembles, and to books, journals and other resources pertaining to the instrument or performance.

General clarinet information

Searches may be made for the composer or performer as AUTHOR for works by, or recorded by, a specific individual.  If you know the title of the piece, use a keyword search for the composer and the title.  If the title is distinctive, you may also find a title search works, but it will not be successful for a generic or form title such as "concerto", "sonata", etc.

Specific subject headings work for both scores and recordings; examples are given below. Note that subdivisions such as "scores" or "scores and parts" are not used with recordings, but the main heading is the same for both formats.

NOTE: Subject headings apply to all members of the clarinet family without distinction.  No key designations are used. The heading encompasses Bb clarinet, bass clarinet, alto clarinet, basset clarinet, contrabass clarinet.  The notes in the catalog record will often tell you which type of clarinet is intended, but sometimes your only recourse is to look at the material itself.

Call numbers and subject headings


CLARINET MUSIC; CLARINET MUSIC, ARRANGED: printed or recorded music for unaccompanied clarinet is found under the subject heading CLARINET MUSIC.  If the music is arranged, the subject heading is CLARINET MUSIC, ARRANGED.

Call numbers for printed music: M70 [collection of original and arranged works]; M71 [collections of original works]; M72 [separately-published original works]; M73 [collections of arrangements]; M74 [separately-published arrangements]

CLARINET AND PIANO MUSIC; CLARINET AND PIANO MUSIC, ARRANGED; SONATAS (CLARINET AND PIANO)  Includes music originally for clarinet and piano or arranged from works for other solo instruments or accompaniments. Other specific forms (ex. Waltzes (Clarinet and piano)) can be substituted, as can those headings followed by "Arranged".  Recordings can also be found with these subject headings.  This category excludes arrangements of accompaniment originally for orchestra/stringorchestra/other large ensembles. See the separate box "Clarinet with large ensemble" for such items.

Call numbers: M249 (mix of original and arranged music); M249 [collections of original works]; M250 [separately-published original works]; M251 [collections of arrangements]; M252 [separately-published arrangements]

DUETS: CLARINET MUSIC (CLARINETS (2)) ; CLARINET MUSIC (CLARINETS (2)), ARRANGED: Clarinet with other instrument. These headings cover printed or recorded music for two clarinets or arranged for two clarinets, OR for clarinet and any other single solo instrument. Headings such as CLARINET AND TROMBONE MUSIC, BASSOON AND CLARINET MUSIC, CLARINET AND VIOLIN MUSIC are used. If two wind instruments are used, they are alphabetically listed. The wind instrument will precede string, plucked or percussion instruments in any two-instrument heading.

Print music call numbers are less specific in this category.  All wind instrument duets are under M288 for collections or M289 for separate works.  Duets for wind and string are under M290 [collections] or M291 [separate works]; wind and plucked instrument are in M296 and M297. 

MUSIC FOR CLARINET AND MORE THAN ONE  WIND INSTRUMENT: Trios, quartets, etc. follow a distinct pattern, from trios through nonets. General rules: start with the number of instruments in the ensemble and decide the combination you want to search.  If exclusively woodwinds, the instruments are listed alphabetically: Woodwind trios (Bassoon, clarinet, oboe); Woodwind quartets (Clarinets (4); Woodwind quintets (Clarinets (2), English horn, flute, oboe)  For other combinations of wind instruments, use Wind trios...; Wind sextets.... [Examples: Wind trios (Bassoon, clarinet, horn)

Call numbers follow the same pattern from trios through nonets; they are not separated according to clarinet but according to family of instruments (woodwinds, brass).

M355/M455/M555, etc. : woodwind instruments, collections of original and arranged compositions

M357/M457/M557, etc. : separate original works, mixed wind instruments

M357.2/M457.2/M557.2, etc. : separate original works, woodwinds only

[M357.4, etc. = brass instruments only]

M358/M458/M558, etc. : collections of arrangements, single family or mixed wind instruments

M359/M459/M659, etc. : arrangements, separately published, single family or mixed instruments

Ensemble music for CLARINET AND KEYBOARD, CLARINET AND STRING follows the same patterns. Instruments are named alphabetically within the family in order by keyboard, winds, strings, plucked, percussion:

Trios (Piano, clarinet, violin);Quartets (Clarinet, violin, viola, violoncello); Sextets (Clarinet, English horn, trombones (2), trumpet, double bass) Call numbers for printed music follow the patterns as under trios, using numbers M360-364; M460-464; etc.

Ensemble music for CLARINET and PLUCKED INSTRUMENTS follows the same patterns: M375-379; M475-479, etc.  For STRING, WIND and PLUCKED, use M380-384, M480-484, etc.


The only current ongoing periodical is:

Clarinet.  ML 945.C55.  Unbound issues in Periodical Room (2nd floor west); bound issues in Fine Arts Journal Room.  1973-current.

The following journals have a few issues but are no longer being published; all are bound in the Fine Arts Journal Room.

Clarinetwork: ML929.C63 (1982-1988)

Klarinette: ML 929.K6 (1986-1988)

Oboe, Klarinette, Fagott: ML 929.K6 (1988-1991; succeeded "Die Klarinette")

Many additional articles pertaining to clarinet and clarinettists can be found by using periodical databases and indexes such as Project Muse, JStor, RILM Abstracts, Music Index, and International Index to Music Periodicals.


Works for solo clarinet and orchestra/string orchestra or other large ensemble

Works for solo clarinet and orchestra can be found under subject headings such as CONCERTOS (CLARINET) or CLARINET WITH ORCHESTRA. If the work is in a specific form, such as a concerto, use that; otherwise, the more general heading is used. If the work was originally for full orchestra but has a piano accompaniment, use the main heading with subdivision: CONCERTOS (CLARINET) - SOLO WITH PIANO or CLARINET WITH ORCHESTRA - SOLO WITH PIANO.  Call numbers:

M1024: Clarinet with orchestra (regardless of form) - full scores

M1025: Clarinet with orchestral accompaniment reduced for piano

Works for solo clarinet and string orchestra follow a similar pattern but with specification of accompanying ensemble: CONCERTOS (CLARINET WITH STRING ORCHESTRA) or CLARINET WITH STRING ORCHESTRA.  A reduced accompaniment follows the pattern outlined above.  Call numbers:

M1124 : Clarinet with string orchestra - full score

M1125:  Clarinet with string orchestra accompaniment reduced for piano

Works for solo clarinet and band: use CLARINET WITH BAND or CONCERTOS (CLARINET WITH BAND).  At present, there are recordings but no scores for this instrumentation. In future, any scores for this combination would use M1205 for full scores, M1206 for solo with piano reduction, or M1527 for arrangements for solo instrument and piano.

Any of these headings and call numbers can also be used for multiple clarinets by adding the number:  CONCERTOS (CLARINETS (2)), etc.



Song headings are designated by High voice; Medium voice; Low voice - not by voice type such as "soprano" or "baritone".

All songs with instrumental solo instruments other than keyboard are placed together under M1621.3, for both original works and arrangements.  Songs for one voice and one non-keyboard instrument will specify that instrument: SONGS (--- VOICE) WITH CLARINET; printed music is filed under M1624.7.

If the music is for one voice and between two and nine instruments, it is not possible to search by separate instrument unless you do a keyword search.  The standard heading is SONGS (---- VOICE) WITH INSTRUMENTAL ENSEMBLE. Printed music is shelved as M1621.3.These subject headings also work for recordings.


Orchestral excerpts use the subject heading CLARINET - ORCHESTRA STUDIES.  For method books, use CLARINET - METHODS.

For books of etudes and other exercises, use CLARINET - INSTRUCTION AND STUDY. 

Call numbers: MT380 [general instructional material]; MT382 [systems and methods]; MT385 [studies and exercises]; MT386 [orchestral excerpts]


Books on the general history of the clarinet: ML945; books on construction and repair: ML946; books on repertoire and playing: ML948.

Books by or about individual clarinetists are to be found within ML419, then filed alphabetically by performer's last name. Search indiviudals as an author for works by them; search them as subjects for works about them. [All wind instrumentalists are placed together under ML419]

Recordings of individual clarinetists are found by searching the individual's name as an author.

Bibliographies and discographies pertaining to the clarinet are under ML 128.C58.  If there is more than one edition of a title, the most current one is in Music Reference; older ones are in the circulating collection.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University